401k Record

Employers › A. M. Castle

A. M. Castle 401(k)

Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant · A. M. Castle & Co. 401(k) Savings and Retirement Plan · plan year 2024

$207.09

Higher than 86% of the 8,758 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $127,569 / 616
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15

10th: $16.21median $93.2090th: $246.84

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans $50 to 250M in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-10-15.

Cost and contributions

Recordkeeping fees per participant

not reported

Not reported on this filing.

Administrative expenses per participant

$223.87

10th: $29.39median $132.8490th: $350.58

Higher than 75% of the 9,042 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $137,903 / 616
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15

Administrative expenses as a share of assets

0.136%

10th: 0.022%median 0.136%90th: 0.326%

Higher than 50% of the 9,049 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $137,903 / $101,518,749
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15

Employer contributions per participant

$1,741

10th: $965median $2,73890th: $8,164

Higher than 26% of the 9,105 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $1,072,529 / 616
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15

Employer share of total contributions

26.4%

10th: 15.6%median 29.5%90th: 50.6%

Higher than 39% of the 9,112 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $1,072,529 / $4,060,682
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15

Plan terms, as stated in A. M. Castle & Co.'s SEC filings

Plan terms are described in A. M. Castle & Co.'s SEC filings: Form 11-K filed 2017-06-23 and Form 10-K filed 2021-03-04. No term could be quoted from them with the required precision.

Plan features

2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2R participant brokerage window · 2S pre-approved plan document · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3D IRS pre-approved plan · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15

Full record, A. M. Castle & Co. 401(k) Savings and Retirement Plan

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorA. M. CASTLE & CO.Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Plan nameA. M. CASTLE & CO. 401(K) SAVINGS AND RETIREMENT PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Sponsor EIN / plan number36-0879160 / 002Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Sponsor locationOAK BROOK, ILForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Industry (business code)423500, Wholesale tradeForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Filing received2025-10-15Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Amended filingyesForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Participants, beginning of year696Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Active participants414Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Participants, end of year645Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Participants with an account balance616Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Total assets, beginning of year$75,203,499Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Total assets, end of year$101,518,749Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Net assets, end of year$101,518,749Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Total income$14,437,385Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Net income$7,631,583Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Employer contributions$1,072,529Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Participant contributions$2,871,812Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$116,341Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Total contributions$4,060,682Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Benefit payments$6,639,994Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$6,805,802Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Total administrative expenses$137,903Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Contract administrator fees$106,715Schedule H, line 2i(2); CONTRACT_ADMIN_FEES_AMT pos 106; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
IQPA audit fees$20,854Schedule H, line 2i(4); IQPA_AUDIT_FEES_AMT pos 161; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Investment advisory and management fees$10,334Schedule H, line 2i(5); INVST_MGMT_FEES_AMT pos 107; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$127,569derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Held in common/collective trusts$34,857,894Schedule H, line 1c(9) col (b); INT_COMMON_TR_EOY_AMT pos 51; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Held in mutual funds$35,833,122Schedule H, line 1c(13) col (b); INT_REG_INVST_CO_EOY_AMT pos 55; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15
Independent auditorCOHN REZNICKSchedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15

Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15.

Service providers paid directly by the plan

ProviderRelationshipService codesDirect compensationIndirect
PRINCIPAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANYrecordkeeperCONTRACT ADMINISTRATOR 13 Contract administrator; 37 Participant loan processing; 50 Direct payment from the plan; 64 Recordkeeping fees $106,491yes
BAKER TILLY US,LLPACCOUNTANT 10 Accounting (including auditing); 13 Contract administrator; 50 Direct payment from the plan $20,854no
OSAIC WEALTH, INC.INVESTMENT ADVISORY 27 Investment advisory (plan); 50 Direct payment from the plan $9,665no

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20251015172918NAL0005260273001, received 2025-10-15.

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$75,203,499$101,518,74935.0%
Participants with a balance665616-7.4%
Administrative expenses$199,328$137,903-30.8%
Recordkeeping fees per participantnot reportednot reported
Employer contributions$1,167,484$1,072,529-8.1%

Prior filing 20241015203323NAL0015378515001, received 2024-10-15; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for A. M. Castle & Co. 401(k) Savings and Retirement Plan appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.

Sponsor name as filed: A. M. CASTLE & CO.; SEC registrant: A. M. Castle & Co. (CIK 18172, matched by EIN).