401k Record

Employers › Adams Resources & Energy

Adams Resources & Energy 401(k)

Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant · Adams Resources and Energy, Inc., and Subsidiaries 401(k) Plan · plan year 2024

$69.88

Higher than 32% of the 24,371 plans $10 to 50M that report it.

Source

= $37,457 / 536
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15

10th: $15.36median $118.8890th: $340.63

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans $10 to 50M in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-10-15.

Cost and contributions

Recordkeeping fees per participant

not reported

Not reported on this filing.

Administrative expenses per participant

$69.88

10th: $26.86median $197.2590th: $456.10

Higher than 21% of the 25,098 plans $10 to 50M that report it.

Source

= $37,457 / 536
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15

Administrative expenses as a share of assets

0.113%

10th: 0.035%median 0.289%90th: 0.599%

Higher than 23% of the 25,132 plans $10 to 50M that report it.

Source

= $37,457 / $33,034,627
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15

Employer contributions per participant

$2,351

10th: $664median $2,07490th: $4,751

Higher than 58% of the 24,050 plans $10 to 50M that report it.

Source

= $1,260,149 / 536
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15

Employer share of total contributions

32.7%

10th: 13.1%median 27.9%90th: 45.2%

Higher than 68% of the 24,084 plans $10 to 50M that report it.

Source

= $1,260,149 / $3,849,355
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15

Plan terms, as stated in Adams Resources & Energy, Inc.'s SEC filings

Plan terms are described in Adams Resources & Energy, Inc.'s SEC filings: Form 10-K filed 2024-03-13. No term could be quoted from them with the required precision.

Plan features

2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15

Full record, Adams Resources and Energy, Inc., and Subsidiaries 401(k) Plan

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorADAMS RESOURCES AND ENERGY, INC.Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Plan nameADAMS RESOURCES AND ENERGY, INC., AND SUBSIDIARIES 401K PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Sponsor EIN / plan number74-1753147 / 004Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Sponsor locationHOUSTON, TXForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Industry (business code)424700, Wholesale tradeForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Filing received2025-10-15Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Participants, beginning of year883Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Active participants626Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Participants, end of year743Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Participants with an account balance536Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Total assets, beginning of year$30,133,132Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Total assets, end of year$33,034,627Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Net assets, end of year$33,015,769Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Total income$7,517,938Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Net income$2,903,821Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Employer contributions$1,260,149Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Participant contributions$2,381,237Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$207,969Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Total contributions$3,849,355Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Benefit payments$4,576,660Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$4,614,117Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Total administrative expenses$37,457Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$37,457derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15
Independent auditorDOEREN MAYHEW ASSURANCESchedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15

Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15.

Service providers paid directly by the plan

No Schedule C line 2 providers are listed on this filing.

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20251015133354NAL0006425248001, received 2025-10-15.

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$30,133,132$33,034,6279.6%
Participants with a balance587536-8.7%
Administrative expenses$25,164$37,45748.9%
Recordkeeping fees per participant$42.87not reported
Employer contributions$1,467,488$1,260,149-14.1%

Prior filing 20241015173607NAL0029271425001, received 2024-10-15; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for Adams Resources and Energy, Inc., and Subsidiaries 401(k) Plan appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.

Sponsor name as filed: ADAMS RESOURCES AND ENERGY, INC.; SEC registrant: ADAMS RESOURCES & ENERGY, INC. (CIK 2178, matched by EIN; display name from the Form 10-K cover).