401k Record

Employers › Ally Financial

Ally Financial 401(k)

Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant · Ally Financial Inc. Retirement Savings Plan · plan year 2024

$20.43

Higher than 18% of the 1,045 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $307,635 / 15,056
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25

10th: $9.43median $44.4790th: $97.55

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans over $1B in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-09-25.

Cost and contributions

Recordkeeping fees per participant

not reported

Not reported on this filing.

Administrative expenses per participant

$58.42

10th: $24.33median $70.0390th: $174.36

Higher than 39% of the 1,076 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $879,583 / 15,056
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25

Administrative expenses as a share of assets

0.031%

10th: 0.013%median 0.046%90th: 0.111%

Higher than 31% of the 1,076 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $879,583 / $2,875,791,720
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25

Employer contributions per participant

$7,429

10th: $1,442median $3,74490th: $8,760

Higher than 84% of the 1,135 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $111,846,109 / 15,056
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25

Employer share of total contributions

50.0%

10th: 19.8%median 33.4%90th: 47.5%

Higher than 93% of the 1,135 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $111,846,109 / $223,767,758
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25

Plan terms, as stated in Ally Financial Inc.'s SEC filings

Plan terms are described in Ally Financial Inc.'s SEC filings: Form 11-K filed 2026-03-27 and Form 10-K filed 2026-02-25. No term could be quoted from them with the required precision.

Plan features

2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2S pre-approved plan document · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3H controlled-group sponsor · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25

Full record, Ally Financial Inc. Retirement Savings Plan

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorALLY FINANCIAL INC.Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Plan nameALLY FINANCIAL INC. RETIREMENT SAVINGS PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Sponsor EIN / plan number38-0572512 / 001Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Sponsor locationDETROIT, MIForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Industry (business code)522298, Finance and insuranceForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Filing received2025-09-25Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Participants, beginning of year15,893Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Active participants10,634Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Participants, end of year15,192Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Participants with an account balance15,056Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Total assets, beginning of year$2,585,546,058Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Total assets, end of year$2,875,791,720Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Net assets, end of year$2,875,575,974Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Total income$575,417,752Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Net income$290,267,616Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Employer contributions$111,846,109Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Participant contributions$104,555,222Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$7,366,427Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Total contributions$223,767,758Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Benefit payments$284,234,780Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$285,150,136Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Total administrative expenses$879,583Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
IQPA audit fees$56,090Schedule H, line 2i(4); IQPA_AUDIT_FEES_AMT pos 161; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Investment advisory and management fees$571,948Schedule H, line 2i(5); INVST_MGMT_FEES_AMT pos 107; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$307,635derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Held in common/collective trusts$2,815,302,215Schedule H, line 1c(9) col (b); INT_COMMON_TR_EOY_AMT pos 51; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25
Independent auditorDELOITTE & TOUCHE LLPSchedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25

Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25.

Service providers paid directly by the plan

ProviderRelationshipService codesDirect compensationIndirect
CALLANNONE 17 Consulting (pension); 28 Investment management; 50 Direct payment from the plan $335,000no
STATE STREET BANK & TRUST COMPANYNONE 25 Trustee (directed); 28 Investment management; 50 Direct payment from the plan; 52 Investment management fees paid indirectly by plan; 62 Float revenue; 63 Distribution (12b-1) fees; 99 Other fees $246,510no
INVESCO ADVISERS, INC.NONE 28 Investment management; 50 Direct payment from the plan; 51 Investment management fees paid directly by plan; 99 Other fees $236,948yes
DELOITTE & TOUCHENONE 10 Accounting (including auditing); 50 Direct payment from the plan $56,090no
DELOITTE TAX LLPNONE 10 Accounting (including auditing); 50 Direct payment from the plan $5,035no

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20250925092737NAL0009015840001, received 2025-09-25.

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$2,585,546,058$2,875,791,72011.2%
Participants with a balance15,58915,056-3.4%
Administrative expenses$853,625$879,5833.0%
Recordkeeping fees per participantnot reportednot reported
Employer contributions$112,433,716$111,846,109-0.5%

Prior filing 20240924105932NAL0004632195001, received 2024-09-24; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for Ally Financial Inc. Retirement Savings Plan appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.

Sponsor name as filed: ALLY FINANCIAL INC.; SEC registrant: Ally Financial Inc. (CIK 40729, matched by EIN; display name from the Form 11-K cover).