401k Record

Employers › BNSF Railway

BNSF Railway 401(k)

Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant · BNSF Railway Company Non-salaried Employees 401(k) Retirement Plan · plan year 2024

$1.19

Higher than 1% of the 1,045 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $37,500 / 31,563
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13

10th: $9.43median $44.4790th: $97.55

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans over $1B in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-10-13.

Cost and contributions

Recordkeeping fees per participant

not reported

Not reported on this filing.

Administrative expenses per participant

$1.19

10th: $24.33median $70.0390th: $174.36

Higher than 1% of the 1,076 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $37,500 / 31,563
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13

Administrative expenses as a share of assets

0.001%

10th: 0.013%median 0.046%90th: 0.111%

Higher than 1% of the 1,076 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $37,500 / $4,785,855,978
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13

Employer contributions per participant

$396

10th: $1,442median $3,74490th: $8,760

Higher than 1% of the 1,135 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $12,485,759 / 31,563
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13

Employer share of total contributions

4.0%

10th: 19.8%median 33.4%90th: 47.5%

Higher than 1% of the 1,135 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $12,485,759 / $313,928,974
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13

97.0% of this plan's assets are held in a master trust. Costs reported at the trust level and allocated by the plan's share: administrative expenses $0 ($1.19 per participant including the plan's own Schedule H). Benchmarks and percentiles use the plan's own Schedule H only.

Plan terms, as stated in BNSF Railway Company's SEC filings

Plan terms are described in BNSF Railway Company's SEC filings: Form 11-K filed 2012-06-26 and Form 10-K filed 2018-02-26. No term could be quoted from them with the required precision.

Plan features

2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2I · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2O ESOP-related feature · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3F · 3H controlled-group sponsor · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13

Full record, BNSF Railway Company Non-salaried Employees 401(k) Retirement Plan

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorBNSF RAILWAY COMPANYForm 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Plan nameBNSF RAILWAY COMPANY NON-SALARIED EMPLOYEES 401(K) RETIREMENT PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Sponsor EIN / plan number41-6034000 / 006Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Sponsor locationFORT WORTH, TXForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Industry (business code)482110, Transportation and warehousingForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Filing received2025-10-13Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Participants, beginning of year32,807Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Active participants27,379Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Participants, end of year33,118Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Participants with an account balance31,563Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Total assets, beginning of year$4,137,377,113Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Total assets, end of year$4,785,855,978Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Net assets, end of year$4,785,855,978Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Total income$957,440,232Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Net income$643,336,724Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Employer contributions$12,485,759Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Participant contributions$202,389,892Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$99,053,323Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Total contributions$313,928,974Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Benefit payments$312,363,373Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$314,103,508Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Total administrative expenses$37,500Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$37,500derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Held in master trusts$4,644,660,800Schedule H, line 1c(11) col (b); INT_MASTER_TR_EOY_AMT pos 53; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13
Independent auditorWHITLEY PENN LLPSchedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13

Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13.

Service providers paid directly by the plan

ProviderRelationshipService codesDirect compensationIndirect
THE VANGUARD GROUP, INC.recordkeeperNONE 15 Recordkeeping and information management; 25 Trustee (directed); 37 Participant loan processing; 52 Investment management fees paid indirectly by plan $294,050no
QDRO CONSULTANTS COMPANYNONE 16 Consulting (general) $37,500no

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20251013105410NAL0002497570001, received 2025-10-13.

Master trust

BNSF 401K PLANS MASTER TRUST (EIN 271754839, PN 003): plan interest $4,644,660,800, 64.9% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20251013105804NAL0000514467001, received 2025-10-13) reports net assets $7,158,650,496, administrative expenses $0, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees not reported and 0 Schedule C providers.

Schedule D Part I of the plan's filing; the trust's Schedule H and Schedule C. Allocation = the plan's interest divided by the trust's net assets.

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$4,137,377,113$4,785,855,97815.7%
Participants with a balance30,73931,5632.7%
Administrative expenses$65,580$37,500-42.8%
Recordkeeping fees per participant$1.49not reported
Employer contributions$11,662,033$12,485,7597.1%

Prior filing 20241010093525NAL0009861923001, received 2024-10-10; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for BNSF Railway Company Non-salaried Employees 401(k) Retirement Plan appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.

Sponsor name as filed: BNSF RAILWAY COMPANY; SEC registrant: BNSF RAILWAY CO (CIK 15511, matched by EIN).