Recordkeeping fees per participant
not reported
Not reported on this filing.
Employers › Chipotle Mexican Grill
Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant · Chipotle Mexican Grill, Inc. 401(k) Plan · plan year 2024
$75.30
Higher than 59% of the 2,324 plans $250M to 1B that report it.
= $816,222 / 10,839
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10
Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans $250M to 1B in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-10-10.
Recordkeeping fees per participant
not reported
Not reported on this filing.
Administrative expenses per participant
$75.30
Higher than 41% of the 2,405 plans $250M to 1B that report it.
= $816,222 / 10,839
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10
Administrative expenses as a share of assets
0.279%
Higher than 97% of the 2,407 plans $250M to 1B that report it.
= $816,222 / $292,760,764
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10
Employer contributions per participant
$1,542
Higher than 17% of the 2,457 plans $250M to 1B that report it.
= $16,708,329 / 10,839
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10
Employer share of total contributions
30.4%
Higher than 48% of the 2,459 plans $250M to 1B that report it.
= $16,708,329 / $54,929,630
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10
Employer match
“We match 100% of the first 3% of pay contributed by each eligible employee and 50% on the next 2% of pay contributed each pay period (with an annual true-up) through cash contributions.”
Form 10-K filed 2026-02-04, for the year ended 2025-12-31 · benefits note, 10-K benefits note · source document
Terms quoted from the filing for the year ended 2025-12-31. Figures cover plan year 2024. The plan document governs.
2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3D IRS pre-approved plan · 3H controlled-group sponsor · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10
| Field | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Plan sponsor | CHIPOTLE MEXICAN GRILL, INC. | Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Plan name | CHIPOTLE MEXICAN GRILL, INC. 401(K) PLAN | Form 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Sponsor EIN / plan number | 84-1219301 / 002 | Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Plan type | single-employer | Form 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Sponsor location | NEWPORT BEACH, CA | Form 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Industry (business code) | 722513, Accommodation and food services | Form 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Plan year | 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31 | Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Filing received | 2025-10-10 | Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Final filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Amended filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Participants, beginning of year | 90,364 | Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Active participants | 94,731 | Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Participants, end of year | 96,636 | Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Participants with an account balance | 10,839 | Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Total assets, beginning of year | $236,402,327 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Total assets, end of year | $292,760,764 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Net assets, end of year | $292,760,764 | Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Total income | $91,895,891 | Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Net income | $56,358,437 | Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Employer contributions | $16,708,329 | Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Participant contributions | $32,785,731 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Other contributions (incl. rollovers) | $5,435,570 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Total contributions | $54,929,630 | Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Benefit payments | $34,696,738 | Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Total expenses (incl. benefit payments) | $35,537,454 | Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Total administrative expenses | $816,222 | Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Contract administrator fees | $816,222 | Schedule H, line 2i(2); CONTRACT_ADMIN_FEES_AMT pos 106; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Administrative expenses excluding investment management | $816,222 | derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Held in common/collective trusts | $188,483,372 | Schedule H, line 1c(9) col (b); INT_COMMON_TR_EOY_AMT pos 51; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Held in mutual funds | $95,871,116 | Schedule H, line 1c(13) col (b); INT_REG_INVST_CO_EOY_AMT pos 55; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
| Independent auditor | EIDE BAILLY LLP | Schedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10 |
Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10.
| Provider | Relationship | Service codes | Direct compensation | Indirect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PRINCIPAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANYrecordkeeper | CONTRACT ADMINISTRATOR | 13 Contract administrator; 37 Participant loan processing; 50 Direct payment from the plan; 64 Recordkeeping fees | $816,222 | yes |
Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20251010191350NAL0008591905001, received 2025-10-10.
| Figure | 2023 | 2024 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total assets | $236,402,327 | $292,760,764 | 23.8% |
| Participants with a balance | 8,363 | 10,839 | 29.6% |
| Administrative expenses | $640,003 | $816,222 | 27.5% |
| Recordkeeping fees per participant | not reported | not reported | |
| Employer contributions | $13,657,585 | $16,708,329 | 22.3% |
Prior filing 20241014002658NAL0012746979001, received 2024-10-14; the plan years are contiguous.
Sponsor name as filed: CHIPOTLE MEXICAN GRILL, INC.; SEC registrant: CHIPOTLE MEXICAN GRILL INC (CIK 1058090, matched by EIN; display name from the Form 10-K cover).