Recordkeeping fees per participant
not reported
Not reported on this filing.
Employers › Citizens
Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant · Citizens, Inc. 401(k) Retirement and Profit Sharing Plan · plan year 2024
$152.07
Higher than 61% of the 24,371 plans $10 to 50M that report it.
= $44,557 / 293
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06
Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans $10 to 50M in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-10-06.
Recordkeeping fees per participant
not reported
Not reported on this filing.
Administrative expenses per participant
$152.07
Higher than 39% of the 25,098 plans $10 to 50M that report it.
= $44,557 / 293
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06
Administrative expenses as a share of assets
0.277%
Higher than 48% of the 25,132 plans $10 to 50M that report it.
= $44,557 / $16,089,988
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06
Employer contributions per participant
$2,473
Higher than 61% of the 24,050 plans $10 to 50M that report it.
= $724,695 / 293
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06
Employer share of total contributions
17.1%
Higher than 17% of the 24,084 plans $10 to 50M that report it.
= $724,695 / $4,227,958
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06
Automatic enrollment
“The 401(k) plan automatically enrolls employees who have completed three months of service.”
Form 10-K filed 2026-03-12, for the year ended 2025-12-31 · benefits note, 10-K benefits note · source document
Terms quoted from the filing for the year ended 2025-12-31. Figures cover plan year 2024. The plan document governs.
2A age/service-weighted · 2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2S pre-approved plan document · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3D IRS pre-approved plan · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06
| Field | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Plan sponsor | CITIZENS, INC. | Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Plan name | CITIZENS, INC. 401(K) RETIREMENT AND PROFIT SHARING PLAN | Form 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Sponsor EIN / plan number | 84-0755371 / 001 | Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Plan type | single-employer | Form 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Sponsor location | AUSTIN, TX | Form 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Industry (business code) | 524140, Finance and insurance | Form 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Plan year | 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31 | Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Filing received | 2025-10-06 | Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Final filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Amended filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Participants, beginning of year | 323 | Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Active participants | 230 | Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Participants, end of year | 293 | Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Participants with an account balance | 293 | Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Total assets, beginning of year | $13,127,442 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Total assets, end of year | $16,089,988 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Net assets, end of year | $16,089,988 | Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Total income | $5,734,878 | Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Net income | $2,962,546 | Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Employer contributions | $724,695 | Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Participant contributions | $1,414,448 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Other contributions (incl. rollovers) | $2,088,815 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Total contributions | $4,227,958 | Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Benefit payments | $2,727,756 | Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Total expenses (incl. benefit payments) | $2,772,332 | Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Total administrative expenses | $44,557 | Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Contract administrator fees | $44,557 | Schedule H, line 2i(2); CONTRACT_ADMIN_FEES_AMT pos 106; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Administrative expenses excluding investment management | $44,557 | derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Held in common/collective trusts | $611,157 | Schedule H, line 1c(9) col (b); INT_COMMON_TR_EOY_AMT pos 51; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Held in mutual funds | $15,100,720 | Schedule H, line 1c(13) col (b); INT_REG_INVST_CO_EOY_AMT pos 55; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
| Independent auditor | BAUER AND COMPANY, LLC | Schedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06 |
Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06.
| Provider | Relationship | Service codes | Direct compensation | Indirect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| STANCORP FINANCIAL GROUPrecordkeeper | NONE | 12 Claims processing; 15 Recordkeeping and information management; 18 Custodial (other than securities); 50 Direct payment from the plan | $25,478 | no |
Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20251006140507NAL0003510433001, received 2025-10-06.
| Figure | 2023 | 2024 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total assets | $13,127,442 | $16,089,988 | 22.6% |
| Participants with a balance | 312 | 293 | -6.1% |
| Administrative expenses | $37,830 | $44,557 | 17.8% |
| Recordkeeping fees per participant | not reported | not reported | |
| Employer contributions | $691,415 | $724,695 | 4.8% |
Prior filing 20241007105228NAL0027262896001, received 2024-10-07; the plan years are contiguous.
Sponsor name as filed: CITIZENS, INC.; SEC registrant: CITIZENS, INC. (CIK 24090, matched by EIN; display name from the Form 10-K cover).