401k Record

Employers › Cleveland-cliffs

Cleveland-cliffs 401(k)

Recordkeeping fees per participant · Cleveland-cliffs Inc. & Its Associated Employers Salaried Employees Savings Plan · plan year 2024

$6.47

Higher than 6% of the 5,847 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $7,281 / 1,125
Schedule H, line 2i(3); OTH_RECORDKEEPING_FEES_AMT pos 160; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13

10th: $10.22median $69.9190th: $151.08

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans $50 to 250M in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-10-13.

Cost and contributions

Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant

$17.37

10th: $16.21median $93.2090th: $246.84

Higher than 10% of the 8,758 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $19,541 / 1,125
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13

Administrative expenses per participant

$67.93

10th: $29.39median $132.8490th: $350.58

Higher than 22% of the 9,042 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $76,417 / 1,125
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13

Administrative expenses as a share of assets

0.032%

10th: 0.022%median 0.136%90th: 0.326%

Higher than 13% of the 9,049 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $76,417 / $241,301,834
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13

Employer contributions per participant

$2,664

10th: $965median $2,73890th: $8,164

Higher than 48% of the 9,105 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $2,996,768 / 1,125
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13

Employer share of total contributions

23.9%

10th: 15.6%median 29.5%90th: 50.6%

Higher than 31% of the 9,112 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $2,996,768 / $12,522,193
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13

99.1% of this plan's assets are held in a master trust. The trust's own filing was not found in the data, so its costs cannot be shown. Benchmarks and percentiles use the plan's own Schedule H only.

Plan terms, as stated in Cleveland-cliffs Inc.'s SEC filings

Plan terms are described in Cleveland-cliffs Inc.'s SEC filings: Form 11-K filed 2020-06-19 and Form 10-K filed 2026-02-09. No term could be quoted from them with the required precision.

Plan features

2E profit-sharing · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2S pre-approved plan document · 3H controlled-group sponsor · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13

Full record, Cleveland-cliffs Inc. & Its Associated Employers Salaried Employees Savings Plan

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorCLEVELAND-CLIFFS INC.Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Plan nameCLEVELAND-CLIFFS INC. & ITS ASSOCIATED EMPLOYERS SALARIED EMPLOYEES SAVINGS PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Sponsor EIN / plan number34-1464672 / 010Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Sponsor locationCLEVELAND, OHForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Industry (business code)212200, Mining, quarrying, and oil and gas extractionForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Filing received2025-10-13Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Participants, beginning of year1,178Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Active participants774Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Participants, end of year1,165Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Participants with an account balance1,125Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Total assets, beginning of year$255,213,735Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Total assets, end of year$241,301,834Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Net assets, end of year$241,301,834Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Total income$47,937,681Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Net income$25,865,002Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Employer contributions$2,996,768Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Participant contributions$8,486,950Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$1,038,475Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Total contributions$12,522,193Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Benefit payments$21,983,782Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$22,072,679Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Total administrative expenses$76,417Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Recordkeeping fees$7,281Schedule H, line 2i(3); OTH_RECORDKEEPING_FEES_AMT pos 160; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
IQPA audit fees$12,260Schedule H, line 2i(4); IQPA_AUDIT_FEES_AMT pos 161; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Investment advisory and management fees$56,876Schedule H, line 2i(5); INVST_MGMT_FEES_AMT pos 107; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$19,541derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Held in master trusts$239,028,312Schedule H, line 1c(11) col (b); INT_MASTER_TR_EOY_AMT pos 53; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13
Independent auditorMEADEN & MOORE, LTD.Schedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13

Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13.

Service providers paid directly by the plan

ProviderRelationshipService codesDirect compensationIndirect
STRATEGIC ADVISORS, INCADVISOR 27 Investment advisory (plan) $49,850no
MEADEN & MOORE, LTDACCOUNTANT 10 Accounting (including auditing) $12,260no
FIDELITY INV INST OPERATIONS COrecordkeeperRECORDKEEPER 37 Participant loan processing; 64 Recordkeeping fees; 65 Account maintenance fees; 71 Securities brokerage commissions and fees $7,281yes
UBS FINANCIAL SERVICES INCINVESTMENT ADVISOR 27 Investment advisory (plan) $5,266no

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20251013172541NAL0000858755002, received 2025-10-13.

Master trust

CLEVELAND-CLIFFS INC. DC PLAN MT (EIN 341935031, PN 001): plan interest $239,028,312, 5.1% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20251013172543NAL0001667249005, received 2025-10-13) reports net assets $4,659,686,901, administrative expenses not reported, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees not reported and 0 Schedule C providers.

Schedule D Part I of the plan's filing; the trust's Schedule H and Schedule C. Allocation = the plan's interest divided by the trust's net assets.

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$255,213,735$241,301,834-5.5%
Participants with a balance1,6551,125-32.0%
Administrative expenses$86,331$76,417-11.5%
Recordkeeping fees per participant$6.98$6.47-7.2%
Employer contributions$3,267,688$2,996,768-8.3%

Prior filing 20251001144015NAL0017946131001, received 2025-10-01; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for Cleveland-cliffs Inc. & Its Associated Employers Salaried Employees Savings Plan appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.

Sponsor name as filed: CLEVELAND-CLIFFS INC.; SEC registrant: CLEVELAND-CLIFFS INC. (CIK 764065, matched by EIN; display name from the Form 10-K cover).