Recordkeeping fees per participant
not reported
Not reported on this filing.
Employers › Community Financial System
Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant · Community Financial System, Inc 401(k) Employee Stock Ownership Plan · plan year 2024
$27.77
Higher than 15% of the 2,324 plans $250M to 1B that report it.
= $96,625 / 3,479
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02
Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans $250M to 1B in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-07-02.
Recordkeeping fees per participant
not reported
Not reported on this filing.
Administrative expenses per participant
$28.35
Higher than 10% of the 2,405 plans $250M to 1B that report it.
= $98,613 / 3,479
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02
Administrative expenses as a share of assets
0.021%
Higher than 12% of the 2,407 plans $250M to 1B that report it.
= $98,613 / $474,210,083
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02
Employer contributions per participant
$2,812
Higher than 45% of the 2,457 plans $250M to 1B that report it.
= $9,782,232 / 3,479
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02
Employer share of total contributions
30.0%
Higher than 47% of the 2,459 plans $250M to 1B that report it.
= $9,782,232 / $32,592,735
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02
Plan terms are described in Community Financial System, Inc's SEC filings: Form 11-K filed 2026-06-18 and Form 10-K filed 2026-02-27. No term could be quoted from them with the required precision.
2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2H partially participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2O ESOP-related feature · 2R participant brokerage window · 2S pre-approved plan document · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3H controlled-group sponsor · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02
| Field | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Plan sponsor | COMMUNITY FINANCIAL SYSTEM, INC | Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Plan name | COMMUNITY FINANCIAL SYSTEM, INC 401K EMPLOYEE STOCK OWNERSHIP PLAN | Form 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Sponsor EIN / plan number | 16-1213679 / 002 | Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Plan type | single-employer | Form 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Sponsor location | DEWITT, NY | Form 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Industry (business code) | 523900, Finance and insurance | Form 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Plan year | 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31 | Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Filing received | 2025-07-02 | Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Final filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Amended filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Participants, beginning of year | 3,824 | Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Active participants | 2,662 | Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Participants, end of year | 3,729 | Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Participants with an account balance | 3,479 | Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Total assets, beginning of year | $415,582,866 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Total assets, end of year | $474,210,083 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Net assets, end of year | $474,210,083 | Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Total income | $98,053,587 | Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Net income | $58,627,217 | Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Employer contributions | $9,782,232 | Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Participant contributions | $16,165,287 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Other contributions (incl. rollovers) | $6,645,216 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Total contributions | $32,592,735 | Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Benefit payments | $38,832,428 | Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Total expenses (incl. benefit payments) | $39,426,370 | Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Total administrative expenses | $98,613 | Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Contract administrator fees | $89,201 | Schedule H, line 2i(2); CONTRACT_ADMIN_FEES_AMT pos 106; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Investment advisory and management fees | $1,988 | Schedule H, line 2i(5); INVST_MGMT_FEES_AMT pos 107; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Administrative expenses excluding investment management | $96,625 | derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Held in common/collective trusts | $47,278,169 | Schedule H, line 1c(9) col (b); INT_COMMON_TR_EOY_AMT pos 51; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Held in mutual funds | $327,318,655 | Schedule H, line 1c(13) col (b); INT_REG_INVST_CO_EOY_AMT pos 55; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
| Independent auditor | DANNIBLE & MCKEE, LLP | Schedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02 |
Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02.
| Provider | Relationship | Service codes | Direct compensation | Indirect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BENEFIT PLANS ADMIN SERVICES, INC.recordkeeper | SUBSIDIARY | 15 Recordkeeping and information management; 19 Custodial (securities); 21 Trustee (bank, trust company or similar); 25 Trustee (directed); 28 Investment management; 37 Participant loan processing; 59 Shareholder servicing fees; 60 Sub-transfer agency fees; 64 Recordkeeping fees | $98,613 | yes |
Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20250702125649NAL0012996513001, received 2025-07-02.
| Figure | 2023 | 2024 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total assets | $415,582,866 | $474,210,083 | 14.1% |
| Participants with a balance | 3,588 | 3,479 | -3.0% |
| Administrative expenses | $98,365 | $98,613 | 0.3% |
| Recordkeeping fees per participant | not reported | not reported | |
| Employer contributions | $9,065,904 | $9,782,232 | 7.9% |
Prior filing 20240710145230NAL0009697363001, received 2024-07-10; the plan years are contiguous.
Sponsor name as filed: COMMUNITY FINANCIAL SYSTEM, INC; SEC registrant: COMMUNITY FINANCIAL SYSTEM, INC. (CIK 723188, matched by EIN).