Recordkeeping fees per participant
not reported
Not reported on this filing.
Employers › Federal Signal
Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant · Federal Signal Corporation Retirement Savings Plan · plan year 2024
$90.22
Higher than 70% of the 2,324 plans $250M to 1B that report it.
= $432,793 / 4,797
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21
Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans $250M to 1B in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-07-21.
Recordkeeping fees per participant
not reported
Not reported on this filing.
Administrative expenses per participant
$90.22
Higher than 52% of the 2,405 plans $250M to 1B that report it.
= $432,793 / 4,797
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21
Administrative expenses as a share of assets
0.080%
Higher than 54% of the 2,407 plans $250M to 1B that report it.
= $432,793 / $544,100,879
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21
Employer contributions per participant
$2,657
Higher than 41% of the 2,457 plans $250M to 1B that report it.
= $12,747,663 / 4,797
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21
Employer share of total contributions
37.2%
Higher than 69% of the 2,459 plans $250M to 1B that report it.
= $12,747,663 / $34,249,007
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21
Employer match
“The Company makes a safe-harbor matching contribution equal to 100% of the first 3% and 50% of the next 2% of base compensation that a participant contributes to the Plan each pay period.”
Form 11-K filed 2026-06-18, for the year ended 2025-12-31 · plan description note, contributions · source document
Eligibility
“All eligible employees may commence participation in the Plan on their date of hire unless their participation in the Plan is governed by a collective bargaining agreement, in which case they are eligible to participate in the Plan on the first day following completion of their waiting period.”
Form 11-K filed 2026-06-18, for the year ended 2025-12-31 · plan description note, general (fallback) · source document
Vesting
“Effective January 1, 2018, most participants are also immediately vested in Company contributions.”
Form 11-K filed 2026-06-18, for the year ended 2025-12-31 · plan description note, vesting · source document
Automatic enrollment
“In most circumstances, if an employee does not affirmatively enroll or decline enrollment in the Plan within 30 days of first becoming eligible to participate in the Plan, the employee will be automatically enrolled in the Plan with contributions set at 2% of pre-tax annual compensation to the Vanguard Target Retirement Fund whose “target” year is closest to the year in which the employee will turn age 65.”
Form 11-K filed 2026-06-18, for the year ended 2025-12-31 · plan description note, contributions · source document
Terms quoted from the filing for the year ended 2025-12-31. Figures cover plan year 2024. The plan document governs.
2A age/service-weighted · 2E profit-sharing · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2O ESOP-related feature · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3D IRS pre-approved plan · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21
| Field | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Plan sponsor | FEDERAL SIGNAL CORPORATION | Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Plan name | FEDERAL SIGNAL CORPORATION RETIREMENT SAVINGS PLAN | Form 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Sponsor EIN / plan number | 36-1063330 / 004 | Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Plan type | single-employer | Form 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Sponsor location | DOWNERS GROVE, IL | Form 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Industry (business code) | 336210, Manufacturing | Form 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Plan year | 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31 | Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Filing received | 2025-07-21 | Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Final filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Amended filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Participants, beginning of year | 4,710 | Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Active participants | 3,837 | Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Participants, end of year | 4,963 | Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Participants with an account balance | 4,797 | Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Total assets, beginning of year | $493,652,971 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Total assets, end of year | $544,100,879 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Net assets, end of year | $544,100,879 | Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Total income | $97,526,729 | Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Net income | $50,447,908 | Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Employer contributions | $12,747,663 | Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Participant contributions | $20,246,272 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Other contributions (incl. rollovers) | $1,255,072 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Total contributions | $34,249,007 | Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Benefit payments | $46,646,028 | Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Total expenses (incl. benefit payments) | $47,078,821 | Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Total administrative expenses | $432,793 | Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Administrative expenses excluding investment management | $432,793 | derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Held in common/collective trusts | $274,902,054 | Schedule H, line 1c(9) col (b); INT_COMMON_TR_EOY_AMT pos 51; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Held in mutual funds | $202,232,517 | Schedule H, line 1c(13) col (b); INT_REG_INVST_CO_EOY_AMT pos 55; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
| Independent auditor | REHMANN ROBSON LLC | Schedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21 |
Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21.
| Provider | Relationship | Service codes | Direct compensation | Indirect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| THE VANGUARD GROUP, INC.recordkeeper | NONE | 15 Recordkeeping and information management; 16 Consulting (general); 25 Trustee (directed); 37 Participant loan processing; 38 Participant communication; 51 Investment management fees paid directly by plan; 52 Investment management fees paid indirectly by plan; 99 Other fees | $443,439 | yes |
| WINSTON & STRAWN | NONE | 29 Legal | $5,539 | no |
Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20250721131546NAL0001955280001, received 2025-07-21.
| Figure | 2023 | 2024 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total assets | $493,652,971 | $544,100,879 | 10.2% |
| Participants with a balance | 4,567 | 4,797 | 5.0% |
| Administrative expenses | $447,469 | $432,793 | -3.3% |
| Recordkeeping fees per participant | not reported | not reported | |
| Employer contributions | $11,423,557 | $12,747,663 | 11.6% |
Prior filing 20240715101851NAL0001124753001, received 2024-07-15; the plan years are contiguous.
Sponsor name as filed: FEDERAL SIGNAL CORPORATION; SEC registrant: FEDERAL SIGNAL CORP /DE/ (CIK 277509, matched by EIN; display name from the Form 11-K cover).