Recordkeeping fees per participant
not reported
Not reported on this filing.
Employers › Genentech
Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant · U.S. Roche 401(k) Savings Plan · plan year 2024
$36.00
Higher than 34% of the 1,045 plans over $1B that report it.
= $1,303,704 / 36,215
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07
Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans over $1B in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-10-07.
Recordkeeping fees per participant
not reported
Not reported on this filing.
Administrative expenses per participant
$36.00
Higher than 17% of the 1,076 plans over $1B that report it.
= $1,303,704 / 36,215
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07
Administrative expenses as a share of assets
0.009%
Higher than 7% of the 1,076 plans over $1B that report it.
= $1,303,704 / $14,347,809,529
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07
Employer contributions per participant
$10,880
Higher than 94% of the 1,135 plans over $1B that report it.
= $394,022,796 / 36,215
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07
Employer share of total contributions
45.8%
Higher than 87% of the 1,135 plans over $1B that report it.
= $394,022,796 / $859,970,113
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07
97.7% of this plan's assets are held in a master trust. The trust's own filing was not found in the data, so its costs cannot be shown. Benchmarks and percentiles use the plan's own Schedule H only.
Plan terms are described in Genentech, Inc.'s SEC filings: Form 11-K filed 2008-06-24 and Form 10-K filed 2009-02-20. No term could be quoted from them with the required precision.
2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2R participant brokerage window · 3F · 3H controlled-group sponsor · 2E profit-sharing · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07
| Field | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Plan sponsor | GENENTECH, INC. | Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Plan name | U.S. ROCHE 401(K) SAVINGS PLAN | Form 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Sponsor EIN / plan number | 94-2347624 / 003 | Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Plan type | single-employer | Form 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Sponsor location | SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA | Form 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Industry (business code) | 325410, Manufacturing | Form 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Plan year | 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31 | Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Filing received | 2025-10-07 | Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Final filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Amended filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Participants, beginning of year | 37,353 | Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Active participants | 21,619 | Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Participants, end of year | 36,458 | Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Participants with an account balance | 36,215 | Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Total assets, beginning of year | $12,904,988,914 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Total assets, end of year | $14,347,809,529 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Net assets, end of year | $14,347,510,934 | Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Total income | $2,639,561,705 | Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Net income | $1,448,698,020 | Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Employer contributions | $394,022,796 | Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Participant contributions | $420,880,532 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Other contributions (incl. rollovers) | $45,066,785 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Total contributions | $859,970,113 | Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Benefit payments | $1,189,559,981 | Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Total expenses (incl. benefit payments) | $1,190,863,685 | Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Total administrative expenses | $1,303,704 | Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Administrative expenses excluding investment management | $1,303,704 | derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Held in master trusts | $14,014,915,213 | Schedule H, line 1c(11) col (b); INT_MASTER_TR_EOY_AMT pos 53; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Independent auditor | GRANT THORNTON LLP | Schedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07 |
Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07.
| Provider | Relationship | Service codes | Direct compensation | Indirect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FIDELITY INV INST OPS CO. INC.recordkeeper | RECORDKEEPER | 64 Recordkeeping fees; 37 Participant loan processing; 65 Account maintenance fees; 71 Securities brokerage commissions and fees | $913,358 | yes |
| CALLAN ASSOCIATES INC. | CONSULTANT | 16 Consulting (general); 18 Custodial (other than securities) | $274,070 | no |
| RUSSELL INVESTMENTS | CONSULTANT | 16 Consulting (general) | $190,633 | no |
| STATE STREET BANK AND TRUST CO | TRUSTEE | 21 Trustee (bank, trust company or similar) | $21,239 | no |
| MERCER | ACTURARY | 11 Actuarial | $7,987 | no |
| RSM US LLP | AUDITOR | 10 Accounting (including auditing) | $7,000 | no |
Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20251007154215NAL0002583779001, received 2025-10-07.
ROCHE US DC PLANS MASTER TRUST (EIN 942347624, PN 002): plan interest $14,014,915,213. The trust's own filing was not found in the data.
Schedule D Part I of the plan's filing; the trust's Schedule H and Schedule C. Allocation = the plan's interest divided by the trust's net assets.
| Figure | 2023 | 2024 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total assets | $12,904,988,914 | $14,347,809,529 | 11.2% |
| Participants with a balance | 37,195 | 36,215 | -2.6% |
| Administrative expenses | $1,360,822 | $1,303,704 | -4.2% |
| Recordkeeping fees per participant | not reported | not reported | |
| Employer contributions | $399,756,368 | $394,022,796 | -1.4% |
Prior filing 20241015192834NAL0015318003001, received 2024-10-15; the plan years are contiguous.
Sponsor name as filed: GENENTECH, INC.; SEC registrant: GENENTECH INC (CIK 318771, matched by EIN).