401k Record

Employers › KALA BIO

KALA BIO 401(k)

Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant · Kala Bio 401(k) Plan · plan year 2024

$19.90

Higher than 13% of the 24,371 plans $10 to 50M that report it.

Source

= $2,269 / 114
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08

10th: $15.36median $118.8890th: $340.63

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans $10 to 50M in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-10-08.

Cost and contributions

Recordkeeping fees per participant

not reported

Not reported on this filing.

Administrative expenses per participant

$19.90

10th: $26.86median $197.2590th: $456.10

Higher than 8% of the 25,098 plans $10 to 50M that report it.

Source

= $2,269 / 114
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08

Administrative expenses as a share of assets

0.020%

10th: 0.035%median 0.289%90th: 0.599%

Higher than 6% of the 25,132 plans $10 to 50M that report it.

Source

= $2,269 / $11,515,049
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08

Employer contributions per participant

$1,363

10th: $664median $2,07490th: $4,751

Higher than 28% of the 24,050 plans $10 to 50M that report it.

Source

= $155,346 / 114
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08

Employer share of total contributions

14.6%

10th: 13.1%median 27.9%90th: 45.2%

Higher than 12% of the 24,084 plans $10 to 50M that report it.

Source

= $155,346 / $1,067,359
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08

Plan terms, as stated in KALA BIO, Inc.'s SEC filings

Employer match

“We also make discretionary matching contributions to our 401(k) plan equal to 50% of the employee contributions up to 4% of the employee’s salary, subject to the statutorily prescribed limit, which was equal to $23,000 in 2024 and $23,500 in 2025.”

Form 10-K filed 2026-04-15, for the year ended 2025-12-31 · benefits note, 10-K benefits note · source document

Vesting

“Under our 401(k) plan, each employee is fully vested in their deferred salary contributions and our discretionary match.”

Form 10-K filed 2026-04-15, for the year ended 2025-12-31 · benefits note, 10-K benefits note · source document

Terms quoted from the filing for the year ended 2025-12-31. Figures cover plan year 2024. The plan document governs.

Plan features

2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2S pre-approved plan document · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3D IRS pre-approved plan · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08

Full record, Kala Bio 401(k) Plan

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorKALA BIO, INC.Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Plan nameKALA BIO 401(K) PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Sponsor EIN / plan number27-0604595 / 001Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Sponsor locationARLINGTON, MAForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Industry (business code)541990, Professional, scientific, and technical servicesForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Filing received2025-10-08Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Participants, beginning of year146Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Active participants38Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Participants, end of year115Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Participants with an account balance114Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Total assets, beginning of year$11,397,302Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Total assets, end of year$11,515,049Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Net assets, end of year$11,515,049Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Total income$2,695,494Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Net income$117,747Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Employer contributions$155,346Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Participant contributions$713,969Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$198,044Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Total contributions$1,067,359Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Benefit payments$2,575,478Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$2,577,747Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Total administrative expenses$2,269Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$2,269derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Held in common/collective trusts$83,691Schedule H, line 1c(9) col (b); INT_COMMON_TR_EOY_AMT pos 51; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Held in mutual funds$11,423,255Schedule H, line 1c(13) col (b); INT_REG_INVST_CO_EOY_AMT pos 55; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08
Independent auditorQRGA, LLPSchedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08

Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08.

Service providers paid directly by the plan

ProviderRelationshipService codesDirect compensationIndirect
EMPOWER ANNUITY INSURANCE COMPANYrecordkeeperRECORDKEEPER 64 Recordkeeping fees $1,388yes

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20251008130024NAL0005577361001, received 2025-10-08.

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$11,397,302$11,515,0491.0%
Participants with a balance145114-21.4%
Administrative expenses$400$2,269467.3%
Recordkeeping fees per participantnot reportednot reported
Employer contributions$147,076$155,3465.6%

Prior filing 20240729143520NAL0018937681001, received 2024-07-29; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for Kala Bio 401(k) Plan appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.

Sponsor name as filed: KALA BIO, INC.; SEC registrant: KALA BIO, Inc. (CIK 1479419, matched by EIN; display name from the Form 10-K cover).