401k Record

Employers › Knife River

Knife River 401(k)

Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant · Knife River Corporation 401(k) Retirement Plan · plan year 2024

$90.41

Higher than 70% of the 2,324 plans $250M to 1B that report it.

Source

= $639,404 / 7,072
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01

10th: $18.52median $67.2190th: $147.71

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans $250M to 1B in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-07-01.

Cost and contributions

Recordkeeping fees per participant

not reported

Not reported on this filing.

Administrative expenses per participant

$117.93

10th: $27.95median $88.2590th: $203.68

Higher than 69% of the 2,405 plans $250M to 1B that report it.

Source

= $834,030 / 7,072
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01

Administrative expenses as a share of assets

0.097%

10th: 0.018%median 0.073%90th: 0.183%

Higher than 65% of the 2,407 plans $250M to 1B that report it.

Source

= $834,030 / $856,387,415
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01

Employer contributions per participant

$4,758

10th: $1,169median $3,07390th: $8,346

Higher than 71% of the 2,457 plans $250M to 1B that report it.

Source

= $33,646,037 / 7,072
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01

Employer share of total contributions

43.5%

10th: 17.5%median 31.1%90th: 48.7%

Higher than 82% of the 2,459 plans $250M to 1B that report it.

Source

= $33,646,037 / $77,403,391
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01

Plan terms, as stated in Knife River Corporation's SEC filings

Employer match

“Each Employer provides matching contributions on behalf of its participants equal to 50 percent of such participant’s pre-tax and Roth deferral contributions up to 6 percent of the participant’s annual eligible compensation as provided under the Plan or according to such other matching contribution formula as adopted by the Employer and approved by the Committee.”

Form 11-K filed 2026-06-17, for the year ended 2025-12-31 · plan description note, contributions · source document

Eligibility

“Generally, eligible employees may participate in the Plan upon hire if they are at least 18 years of age and actively employed by the Employer.”

Form 11-K filed 2026-06-17, for the year ended 2025-12-31 · plan description note, eligibility · source document

Vesting

“A participant’s interest in their pre-tax and Roth deferral accounts, matching contribution account, rollover account and ESOP account is at all times fully vested and nonforfeitable.”

Form 11-K filed 2026-06-17, for the year ended 2025-12-31 · plan description note, vesting · source document

Terms quoted from the filing for the year ended 2025-12-31. Figures cover plan year 2024. The plan document governs.

Plan features

2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2O ESOP-related feature · 2S pre-approved plan document · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3H controlled-group sponsor · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01

Full record, Knife River Corporation 401(k) Retirement Plan

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorKNIFE RIVER CORPORATIONForm 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Plan nameKNIFE RIVER CORPORATION 401(K) RETIREMENT PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Sponsor EIN / plan number92-1008893 / 001Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Sponsor locationBISMARCK, NDForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Industry (business code)237310, ConstructionForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Filing received2025-07-01Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Participants, beginning of year7,236Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Active participants5,546Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Participants, end of year7,242Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Participants with an account balance7,072Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Total assets, beginning of year$741,236,100Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Total assets, end of year$856,387,415Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Net assets, end of year$856,387,415Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Total income$205,863,006Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Net income$115,161,067Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Employer contributions$33,646,037Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Participant contributions$38,740,070Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$5,017,284Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Total contributions$77,403,391Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Benefit payments$89,664,302Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$90,701,939Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Total administrative expenses$834,030Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Contract administrator fees$563,826Schedule H, line 2i(2); CONTRACT_ADMIN_FEES_AMT pos 106; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
IQPA audit fees$75,621Schedule H, line 2i(4); IQPA_AUDIT_FEES_AMT pos 161; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Investment advisory and management fees$194,626Schedule H, line 2i(5); INVST_MGMT_FEES_AMT pos 107; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$639,404derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Held in common/collective trusts$317,222,877Schedule H, line 1c(9) col (b); INT_COMMON_TR_EOY_AMT pos 51; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Held in mutual funds$346,467,182Schedule H, line 1c(13) col (b); INT_REG_INVST_CO_EOY_AMT pos 55; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01
Independent auditorGRANT THORNTON LLPSchedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01

Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01.

Service providers paid directly by the plan

ProviderRelationshipService codesDirect compensationIndirect
PRINCIPAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANYrecordkeeperCONTRACT ADMINISTRATOR 13 Contract administrator; 15 Recordkeeping and information management; 21 Trustee (bank, trust company or similar); 37 Participant loan processing; 49 Other services; 50 Direct payment from the plan; 55 Other commissions; 62 Float revenue; 63 Distribution (12b-1) fees; 64 Recordkeeping fees $563,826yes
EDELMAN FINANCIAL ENGINES, LLCINV ADV, PARTICIPANTS 26 Investment advisory (participants); 50 Direct payment from the plan $137,562no
GRANT THORNTON LLPACCOUNTANT 10 Accounting (including auditing); 50 Direct payment from the plan; 52 Investment management fees paid indirectly by plan $75,621yes
WILSHIRE ADVISORS LLCINVESTMENT ADVISORY 27 Investment advisory (plan); 50 Direct payment from the plan; 52 Investment management fees paid indirectly by plan $57,064yes

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20250701100903NAL0012573857001, received 2025-07-01.

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$741,236,100$856,387,41515.5%
Participants with a balance6,8387,0723.4%
Administrative expenses$391,695$834,030112.9%
Recordkeeping fees per participantnot reportednot reported
Employer contributions$28,617,947$33,646,03717.6%

Prior filing 20240628091248NAL0000222403001, received 2024-06-28; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for Knife River Corporation 401(k) Retirement Plan appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.

Sponsor name as filed: KNIFE RIVER CORPORATION; SEC registrant: Knife River Corp (CIK 1955520, matched by EIN; display name from the Form 11-K cover).