Recordkeeping fees per participant
not reported
Not reported on this filing.
Employers › MetLife 401(k) Plan
Total assets, end of year · Metlife 401(k) Plan · plan year 2024
$8,315,920,492
31,714 participants with a balance. This filing reports no recordkeeping fee and no administrative expenses excluding investment management, so there is no headline cost figure.
Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07
Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans over $1B in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-10-07.
Recordkeeping fees per participant
not reported
Not reported on this filing.
Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant
$0.00
Fewer than 50 comparable plans report this figure; no percentile.
= $0 / 31,714
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07
Administrative expenses per participant
$325.22
Higher than 97% of the 1,076 plans over $1B that report it.
= $10,314,080 / 31,714
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07
Administrative expenses as a share of assets
0.124%
Higher than 93% of the 1,076 plans over $1B that report it.
= $10,314,080 / $8,315,920,492
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07
Employer contributions per participant
$2,070
Higher than 19% of the 1,135 plans over $1B that report it.
= $65,639,028 / 31,714
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07
Employer share of total contributions
28.0%
Higher than 33% of the 1,135 plans over $1B that report it.
= $65,639,028 / $234,731,319
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07
Plan terms are not published in public filings.
2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2R participant brokerage window · 3F · 3H controlled-group sponsor · 2E profit-sharing · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07
| Field | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Plan sponsor | METLIFE GROUP, INC. | Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Plan name | METLIFE 401(K) PLAN | Form 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Sponsor EIN / plan number | 55-0790010 / 003 | Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Plan type | single-employer | Form 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Sponsor location | BRIDGEWATER, NJ | Form 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Industry (business code) | 524140, Finance and insurance | Form 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Plan year | 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31 | Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Filing received | 2025-10-07 | Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Final filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Amended filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Participants, beginning of year | 33,396 | Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Active participants | 14,863 | Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Participants, end of year | 32,414 | Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Participants with an account balance | 31,714 | Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Total assets, beginning of year | $7,662,820,799 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Total assets, end of year | $8,315,920,492 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Net assets, end of year | $8,314,214,679 | Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Total income | $1,342,465,861 | Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Net income | $658,493,922 | Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Employer contributions | $65,639,028 | Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Participant contributions | $158,008,668 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Other contributions (incl. rollovers) | $11,083,623 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Total contributions | $234,731,319 | Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Benefit payments | $673,519,066 | Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Total expenses (incl. benefit payments) | $683,971,939 | Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Total administrative expenses | $10,314,080 | Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Investment advisory and management fees | $10,314,080 | Schedule H, line 2i(5); INVST_MGMT_FEES_AMT pos 107; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Administrative expenses excluding investment management | $0 | derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Held in mutual funds | $67,922,216 | Schedule H, line 1c(13) col (b); INT_REG_INVST_CO_EOY_AMT pos 55; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
| Independent auditor | DELOITTE & TOUCHE, LLP | Schedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07 |
Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07.
| Provider | Relationship | Service codes | Direct compensation | Indirect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| METLIFE INSURANCE COMPANY | PARTY-IN-INTEREST | 28 Investment management | $7,614,494 | no |
| BAILLIE GIFFORD OVERSEAS LTD | NONE | 28 Investment management | $1,734,299 | no |
| METLIFE INVEST MANAGEMENT HOLDINGS | NONE | 28 Investment management | $1,029,551 | no |
| ALIGHT FINANCIAL SOLUTIONS LLC | BROKER | 33 Securities brokerage; 61 Finders fees / placement fees; 63 Distribution (12b-1) fees | $9,456 | yes |
| PERSHING LLC | BROKERAGE WINDOW CLEARING | 59 Shareholder servicing fees; 61 Finders fees / placement fees; 71 Securities brokerage commissions and fees; 99 Other fees | $0 | yes |
Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20251007065040NAL0007624240001, received 2025-10-07.
| Figure | 2023 | 2024 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total assets | $7,662,820,799 | $8,315,920,492 | 8.5% |
| Participants with a balance | 32,603 | 31,714 | -2.7% |
| Administrative expenses | $10,338,759 | $10,314,080 | -0.2% |
| Recordkeeping fees per participant | not reported | not reported | |
| Employer contributions | $64,117,106 | $65,639,028 | 2.4% |
Prior filing 20241008081623NAL0017271841001, received 2024-10-08; the plan years are contiguous.
Sponsor name as filed: METLIFE GROUP, INC.; SEC registrant: MetLife 401(k) Plan (CIK 2027739, matched by EIN).