401k Record

Employers › National Grid USA Service

National Grid USA Service 401(k)

Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant · National Grid USA Co. Incentive Thrift Plan · plan year 2024

$44.42

Higher than 50% of the 1,045 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $1,059,336 / 23,847
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14

10th: $9.43median $44.4790th: $97.55

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans over $1B in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-10-14.

Cost and contributions

Recordkeeping fees per participant

not reported

Not reported on this filing.

Administrative expenses per participant

$51.95

10th: $24.33median $70.0390th: $174.36

Higher than 32% of the 1,076 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $1,238,918 / 23,847
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14

Administrative expenses as a share of assets

0.019%

10th: 0.013%median 0.046%90th: 0.111%

Higher than 16% of the 1,076 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $1,238,918 / $6,435,482,235
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14

Employer contributions per participant

$5,444

10th: $1,442median $3,74490th: $8,760

Higher than 72% of the 1,135 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $129,829,673 / 23,847
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14

Employer share of total contributions

31.7%

10th: 19.8%median 33.4%90th: 47.5%

Higher than 44% of the 1,135 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $129,829,673 / $409,916,895
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14

Plan terms, as stated in National Grid USA Service Company, Inc.'s SEC filings

Plan terms are not published in public filings.

Plan features

2A age/service-weighted · 2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2H partially participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2O ESOP-related feature · 2R participant brokerage window · 2S pre-approved plan document · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3H controlled-group sponsor · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14

Full record, National Grid USA Co. Incentive Thrift Plan

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorNATIONAL GRID USA SERVICE COMPANY, INC.Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Plan nameNATIONAL GRID USA CO. INCENTIVE THRIFT PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Sponsor EIN / plan number04-1663150 / 007Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Sponsor locationBROOKLYN, NYForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Industry (business code)221100, UtilitiesForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Filing received2025-10-14Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Participants, beginning of year24,129Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Active participants17,603Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Participants, end of year24,480Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Participants with an account balance23,847Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Total assets, beginning of year$5,897,404,195Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Total assets, end of year$6,435,482,235Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Net assets, end of year$6,435,482,235Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Total income$1,073,038,616Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Net income$538,086,810Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Employer contributions$129,829,673Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Participant contributions$260,329,317Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$19,757,905Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Total contributions$409,916,895Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Benefit payments$533,662,799Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$534,951,806Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Total administrative expenses$1,238,918Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Contract administrator fees$978,785Schedule H, line 2i(2); CONTRACT_ADMIN_FEES_AMT pos 106; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
IQPA audit fees$70,040Schedule H, line 2i(4); IQPA_AUDIT_FEES_AMT pos 161; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Investment advisory and management fees$179,582Schedule H, line 2i(5); INVST_MGMT_FEES_AMT pos 107; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$1,059,336derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Held in common/collective trusts$6,084,947,800Schedule H, line 1c(9) col (b); INT_COMMON_TR_EOY_AMT pos 51; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Held in mutual funds$0Schedule H, line 1c(13) col (b); INT_REG_INVST_CO_EOY_AMT pos 55; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14
Independent auditorDELOITTE & TOUCHE LLPSchedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14

Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14.

Service providers paid directly by the plan

ProviderRelationshipService codesDirect compensationIndirect
VANGUARD GROUP INC.recordkeeperNONE 15 Recordkeeping and information management; 37 Participant loan processing; 16 Consulting (general); 38 Participant communication; 33 Securities brokerage $978,785yes
NEW ENGLAND PENSION CONSULTANTSNONE 16 Consulting (general) $179,582no
DELOITTE & TOUCHE LLPNONE 10 Accounting (including auditing) $70,040no
CLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLPNONE 10 Accounting (including auditing) $7,087no

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20251014151817NAL0004372224001, received 2025-10-14.

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$5,897,404,195$6,435,482,2359.1%
Participants with a balance23,58523,8471.1%
Administrative expenses$1,236,607$1,238,9180.2%
Recordkeeping fees per participantnot reportednot reported
Employer contributions$116,211,513$129,829,67311.7%

Prior filing 20241010180202NAL0011799747001, received 2024-10-10; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for National Grid USA Co. Incentive Thrift Plan appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.

Sponsor name as filed: NATIONAL GRID USA SERVICE COMPANY, INC.; SEC registrant: NATIONAL GRID USA SERVICE CO INC (CIK 71339, matched by EIN).