401k Record

Employers › Public Storage

Public Storage 401(k)

Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant · PS 401(k) Profit Sharing Plan · plan year 2024

$67.88

Higher than 34% of the 8,758 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $183,818 / 2,708
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14

10th: $16.21median $93.2090th: $246.84

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans $50 to 250M in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-10-14.

Cost and contributions

Recordkeeping fees per participant

not reported

Not reported on this filing.

Administrative expenses per participant

$67.88

10th: $29.39median $132.8490th: $350.58

Higher than 22% of the 9,042 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $183,818 / 2,708
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14

Administrative expenses as a share of assets

0.083%

10th: 0.022%median 0.136%90th: 0.326%

Higher than 31% of the 9,049 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $183,818 / $221,942,018
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14

Employer contributions per participant

$1,748

10th: $965median $2,73890th: $8,164

Higher than 26% of the 9,105 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $4,732,650 / 2,708
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14

Employer share of total contributions

27.5%

10th: 15.6%median 29.5%90th: 50.6%

Higher than 43% of the 9,112 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $4,732,650 / $17,213,528
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14

Plan terms, as stated in Public Storage's SEC filings

Plan terms are described in Public Storage's SEC filings: Form 11-K filed 2021-06-25 and Form 10-K filed 2026-02-12. No term could be quoted from them with the required precision.

Plan features

2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2R participant brokerage window · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3D IRS pre-approved plan · 3H controlled-group sponsor · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14

Full record, PS 401(k) Profit Sharing Plan

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorPUBLIC STORAGEForm 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Plan namePS 401(K) PROFIT SHARING PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Sponsor EIN / plan number95-3551121 / 001Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Sponsor locationGLENDALE, CAForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Industry (business code)531130, Real estate and rental and leasingForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Filing received2025-10-14Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Participants, beginning of year6,669Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Active participants5,502Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Participants, end of year6,090Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Participants with an account balance2,708Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Total assets, beginning of year$201,890,611Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Total assets, end of year$221,942,018Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Net assets, end of year$221,942,018Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Total income$45,709,615Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Net income$20,051,407Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Employer contributions$4,732,650Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Participant contributions$10,710,382Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$1,770,496Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Total contributions$17,213,528Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Benefit payments$25,474,390Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$25,658,208Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Total administrative expenses$183,818Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Contract administrator fees$183,818Schedule H, line 2i(2); CONTRACT_ADMIN_FEES_AMT pos 106; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$183,818derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Held in common/collective trusts$64,102,364Schedule H, line 1c(9) col (b); INT_COMMON_TR_EOY_AMT pos 51; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Held in mutual funds$139,195,091Schedule H, line 1c(13) col (b); INT_REG_INVST_CO_EOY_AMT pos 55; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14
Independent auditorWITHUMSMITH + BROWN, PCSchedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14

Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14.

Service providers paid directly by the plan

ProviderRelationshipService codesDirect compensationIndirect
PRINCIPAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANYrecordkeeperCONTRACT ADMINISTRATOR 13 Contract administrator; 37 Participant loan processing; 50 Direct payment from the plan; 64 Recordkeeping fees $183,793yes

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20251014125438NAL0001374019001, received 2025-10-14.

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$201,890,611$221,942,0189.9%
Participants with a balance2,5962,7084.3%
Administrative expenses$66,311$183,818177.2%
Recordkeeping fees per participantnot reportednot reported
Employer contributions$4,437,729$4,732,6506.6%

Prior filing 20240614135230NAL0032276353001, received 2024-06-14; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for PS 401(k) Profit Sharing Plan appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.

Sponsor name as filed: PUBLIC STORAGE; SEC registrant: Public Storage (CIK 1393311, matched by EIN; display name from the Form 10-K cover).