401k Record

Employers › Smart Sand

Smart Sand 401(k)

Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant · Smart Sand, Inc. Retirement Plan · plan year 2024

$559.52

Higher than 98% of the 24,371 plans $10 to 50M that report it.

Source

= $173,450 / 310
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24

10th: $15.36median $118.8890th: $340.63

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans $10 to 50M in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-04-24.

Cost and contributions

Recordkeeping fees per participant

not reported

Not reported on this filing.

Administrative expenses per participant

$559.52

10th: $26.86median $197.2590th: $456.10

Higher than 95% of the 25,098 plans $10 to 50M that report it.

Source

= $173,450 / 310
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24

Administrative expenses as a share of assets

1.035%

10th: 0.035%median 0.289%90th: 0.599%

Higher than 99% of the 25,132 plans $10 to 50M that report it.

Source

= $173,450 / $16,762,180
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24

Employer contributions per participant

$3,070

10th: $664median $2,07490th: $4,751

Higher than 74% of the 24,050 plans $10 to 50M that report it.

Source

= $951,839 / 310
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24

Employer share of total contributions

37.4%

10th: 13.1%median 27.9%90th: 45.2%

Higher than 80% of the 24,084 plans $10 to 50M that report it.

Source

= $951,839 / $2,548,259
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24

Plan terms, as stated in Smart Sand, Inc.'s SEC filings

Employer match

“The plan allows participants to make pre-tax and Roth after-tax contributions and the Company provides 100% matching on the first 3% and 50% matching on the next 2% of employee’s eligible deferred compensation.”

Form 10-K filed 2026-02-26, for the year ended 2025-12-31 · benefits note, 10-K benefits note · source document

Vesting

“Employees are immediately vested in both their contributions and the Company’s matching contributions.”

Form 10-K filed 2026-02-26, for the year ended 2025-12-31 · benefits note, 10-K benefits note · source document

Terms quoted from the filing for the year ended 2025-12-31. Figures cover plan year 2024. The plan document governs.

Plan features

2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2S pre-approved plan document · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3D IRS pre-approved plan · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24

Full record, Smart Sand, Inc. Retirement Plan

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorSMART SAND INCForm 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Plan nameSMART SAND, INC. RETIREMENT PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Sponsor EIN / plan number45-2809926 / 001Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Sponsor locationOTTAWA, ILForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Industry (business code)212320, Mining, quarrying, and oil and gas extractionForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Filing received2025-04-24Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Participants, beginning of year375Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Active participants282Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Participants, end of year319Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Participants with an account balance310Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Total assets, beginning of year$14,226,833Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Total assets, end of year$16,762,180Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Net assets, end of year$16,762,180Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Total income$4,458,904Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Net income$2,535,347Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Employer contributions$951,839Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Participant contributions$1,520,223Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$76,197Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Total contributions$2,548,259Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Benefit payments$1,750,107Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$1,923,557Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Total administrative expenses$173,450Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Contract administrator fees$173,450Schedule H, line 2i(2); CONTRACT_ADMIN_FEES_AMT pos 106; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$173,450derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Held in common/collective trusts$222,202Schedule H, line 1c(9) col (b); INT_COMMON_TR_EOY_AMT pos 51; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24
Independent auditorCLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLPSchedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24

Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24.

Service providers paid directly by the plan

ProviderRelationshipService codesDirect compensationIndirect
PRINCIPAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANYrecordkeeperCONTRACT ADMINISTRATOR 13 Contract administrator; 37 Participant loan processing; 50 Direct payment from the plan; 64 Recordkeeping fees $173,449yes
RBC CAPITAL MARKETS LLCINVESTMENT ADVISORY 27 Investment advisory (plan); 99 Other fees $0yes

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20250424112235NAL0007118545001, received 2025-04-24.

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$14,226,833$16,762,18017.8%
Participants with a balance24631026.0%
Administrative expenses$131,721$173,45031.7%
Recordkeeping fees per participantnot reportednot reported
Employer contributions$677,381$951,83940.5%

Prior filing 20240709153432NAL0013869009001, received 2024-07-09; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for Smart Sand, Inc. Retirement Plan appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.

Sponsor name as filed: SMART SAND INC; SEC registrant: Smart Sand, Inc. (CIK 1529628, matched by EIN; display name from the Form 10-K cover).