Recordkeeping fees per participant
not reported
Not reported on this filing.
Employers › Target
Total assets, end of year · Target Corporation 401(k) Plan · plan year 2024
$14,419,645,154
219,259 participants with a balance. This filing reports no recordkeeping fee and no administrative expenses excluding investment management, so there is no headline cost figure.
Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans over $1B in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-10-02.
Recordkeeping fees per participant
not reported
Not reported on this filing.
Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant
$0.00
Fewer than 50 comparable plans report this figure; no percentile.
= $0 / 219,259
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Administrative expenses per participant
$0.00
Fewer than 50 comparable plans report this figure; no percentile.
= $0 / 219,259
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Administrative expenses as a share of assets
0.000%
Fewer than 50 comparable plans report this figure; no percentile.
= $0 / $14,419,645,154
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Employer contributions per participant
$1,744
Higher than 14% of the 1,135 plans over $1B that report it.
= $382,473,638 / 219,259
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
Employer share of total contributions
36.6%
Higher than 63% of the 1,135 plans over $1B that report it.
= $382,473,638 / $1,043,824,046
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
98.3% of this plan's assets are held in a master trust. Costs reported at the trust level and allocated by the plan's share: administrative expenses $21,297,646 ($97.13 per participant including the plan's own Schedule H). Benchmarks and percentiles use the plan's own Schedule H only.
Employer match
“We match 100 percent of each team member's contribution up to 5 percent of eligible earnings.”
Form 10-K filed 2026-03-11, for the year ended 2026-01-31 · benefits note, 10-K benefits note · source document
Terms quoted from the filing for the year ended 2026-01-31. Figures cover plan year 2024. The plan document governs.
2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2I · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2O ESOP-related feature · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3F · 3H controlled-group sponsor · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02
| Field | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Plan sponsor | TARGET CORPORATION | Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Plan name | TARGET CORPORATION 401(K) PLAN | Form 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Sponsor EIN / plan number | 41-0215170 / 002 | Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Plan type | single-employer | Form 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Sponsor location | BROOKLYN PARK, MN | Form 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Industry (business code) | 452200, Retail trade | Form 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Plan year | 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31 | Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Filing received | 2025-10-02 | Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Final filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Amended filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Participants, beginning of year | 475,573 | Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Active participants | 427,999 | Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Participants, end of year | 495,482 | Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Participants with an account balance | 219,259 | Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Total assets, beginning of year | $13,008,265,857 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Total assets, end of year | $14,419,645,154 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Net assets, end of year | $14,411,303,076 | Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Total income | $2,585,203,658 | Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Net income | $1,410,908,676 | Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Employer contributions | $382,473,638 | Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Participant contributions | $631,153,718 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Other contributions (incl. rollovers) | $30,196,690 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Total contributions | $1,043,824,046 | Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Benefit payments | $1,153,085,994 | Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Total expenses (incl. benefit payments) | $1,174,294,982 | Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Total administrative expenses | $0 | Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Administrative expenses excluding investment management | $0 | derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Held in master trusts | $14,169,927,224 | Schedule H, line 1c(11) col (b); INT_MASTER_TR_EOY_AMT pos 53; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
| Independent auditor | ERNST & YOUNG LLP | Schedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02 |
Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02.
No Schedule C is attached to this plan's filing; providers are reported on the master trust's filing (below).
Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20251002093904NAL0000210707001, received 2025-10-02.
TARGET CORPORATION MASTER 401K TRST (EIN 410215170, PN 005): plan interest $14,169,927,224, 100.0% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20251002094100NAL0000907202001, received 2025-10-02) reports net assets $14,171,226,804, administrative expenses $21,299,599, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees $12,632,517 and 9 Schedule C providers.
| Provider (trust level) | Service codes | Paid by the trust | Allocated to this plan |
|---|---|---|---|
| ALIGHT FINANCIAL ADVISORS, LLC | 26 50 | $8,651,442 | $8,650,649 |
| ALIGHT SOLUTIONS LLC | 13 38 50 | $7,185,054 | $7,184,395 |
| BLACKROCK INSTITUTIONAL TRUST CO. | 21 24 28 50 51 | $3,156,297 | $3,156,008 |
| STATE STREET BANK AND TRUST COMPANY | 19 25 28 50 51 62 63 99 | $1,148,446 | $1,148,341 |
| STATE STREET GLOBAL ADVISORS TRUST | 18 19 28 50 51 52 | $824,778 | $824,702 |
| ED DESIGN | 49 50 | $224,952 | $224,931 |
| HERRON PALMER | 16 50 | $47,880 | $47,876 |
| ERNST & YOUNG LLP | 10 50 | $42,000 | $41,996 |
| CALLAN LLC | 16 50 | $18,750 | $18,748 |
Schedule D Part I of the plan's filing; the trust's Schedule H and Schedule C. Allocation = the plan's interest divided by the trust's net assets.
| Figure | 2023 | 2024 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total assets | $13,008,265,857 | $14,419,645,154 | 10.8% |
| Participants with a balance | 212,664 | 219,259 | 3.1% |
| Administrative expenses | $0 | $0 | |
| Recordkeeping fees per participant | not reported | not reported | |
| Employer contributions | $356,492,610 | $382,473,638 | 7.3% |
Prior filing 20241008100150NAL0017380305001, received 2024-10-08; the plan years are contiguous.
Sponsor name as filed: TARGET CORPORATION; SEC registrant: TARGET CORP (CIK 27419, matched by EIN; display name from the Form 10-K cover).