401k Record

Employers › UnitedHealth Group

UnitedHealth Group 401(k)

Recordkeeping fees per participant · Unitedhealth Group 401(k) Savings Plan · plan year 2024

$22.88

Higher than 30% of the 790 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $6,033,226 / 263,728
Schedule H, line 2i(3); OTH_RECORDKEEPING_FEES_AMT pos 160; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16

10th: $6.72median $34.2890th: $56.58

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans over $1B in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-07-16.

Cost and contributions

Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant

$22.88

10th: $9.43median $44.4790th: $97.55

Higher than 20% of the 1,045 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $6,033,226 / 263,728
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16

Administrative expenses per participant

$22.88

10th: $24.33median $70.0390th: $174.36

Higher than 9% of the 1,076 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $6,033,226 / 263,728
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16

Administrative expenses as a share of assets

0.023%

10th: 0.013%median 0.046%90th: 0.111%

Higher than 21% of the 1,076 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $6,033,226 / $26,618,762,181
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16

Employer contributions per participant

$2,523

10th: $1,442median $3,74490th: $8,760

Higher than 28% of the 1,135 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $665,377,224 / 263,728
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16

Employer share of total contributions

28.6%

10th: 19.8%median 33.4%90th: 47.5%

Higher than 35% of the 1,135 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $665,377,224 / $2,329,375,939
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16

92.7% of this plan's assets are held in a master trust. Costs reported at the trust level and allocated by the plan's share: administrative expenses $0 ($22.88 per participant including the plan's own Schedule H). Benchmarks and percentiles use the plan's own Schedule H only.

Plan terms, as stated in UnitedHealth Group Incorporated's SEC filings

Employer match

“The Company makes a safe harbor matching contribution equal to 100% of contributions up to 3% of eligible compensation, plus 50% of the next 3% of eligible compensation for a maximum contribution of 4.5% per payroll period as defined in the Plan document.”

Form 11-K filed 2026-06-11, for the year ended 2025-12-31 · plan description note, contributions · source document

Eligibility

“In general, eligible employees may make salary deferral contributions to the Plan upon employment with a participating employer of the Company and are automatically enrolled in the Plan as soon as administratively feasible after their hire date.”

Form 11-K filed 2026-06-11, for the year ended 2025-12-31 · plan description note, eligibility · source document

Vesting

“Employer safe harbor contributions and discretionary contributions, if any, and earnings thereon vest in accordance with the provisions of the Plan as follows:”

Form 11-K filed 2026-06-11, for the year ended 2025-12-31 · plan description note, vesting · source document

Automatic enrollment

“Eligible employees are automatically enrolled at an employee pretax deferral rate of 3% of their eligible pay,”

Form 11-K filed 2026-06-11, for the year ended 2025-12-31 · plan description note, contributions · source document

Terms quoted from the filing for the year ended 2025-12-31. Figures cover plan year 2024. The plan document governs.

Plan features

2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2R participant brokerage window · 2S pre-approved plan document · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3H controlled-group sponsor · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16

Full record, Unitedhealth Group 401(k) Savings Plan

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorUNITEDHEALTH GROUP INCORPORATEDForm 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Plan nameUNITEDHEALTH GROUP 401(K) SAVINGS PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Sponsor EIN / plan number41-1321939 / 001Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Sponsor locationMINNETONKA, MNForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Industry (business code)541990, Professional, scientific, and technical servicesForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Filing received2025-07-16Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Participants, beginning of year278,507Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Active participants199,134Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Participants, end of year274,906Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Participants with an account balance263,728Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Total assets, beginning of year$22,432,100,178Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Total assets, end of year$26,618,762,181Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Net assets, end of year$26,618,762,181Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Total income$5,533,871,638Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Net income$3,315,098,852Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Employer contributions$665,377,224Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Participant contributions$1,460,702,106Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$203,296,609Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Total contributions$2,329,375,939Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Benefit payments$2,211,786,861Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$2,218,772,786Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Total administrative expenses$6,033,226Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Recordkeeping fees$6,033,226Schedule H, line 2i(3); OTH_RECORDKEEPING_FEES_AMT pos 160; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$6,033,226derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Held in master trusts$24,665,949,142Schedule H, line 1c(11) col (b); INT_MASTER_TR_EOY_AMT pos 53; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16
Independent auditorDELOITTE & TOUCHE, LLPSchedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16

Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16.

Service providers paid directly by the plan

ProviderRelationshipService codesDirect compensationIndirect
FIDELITY INVST INSTNL OPRTN CO, INCrecordkeeperRECORDKEEPER 64 Recordkeeping fees; 37 Participant loan processing; 65 Account maintenance fees; 71 Securities brokerage commissions and fees; 50 Direct payment from the plan $6,033,226yes

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20250716132709NAL0002446659001, received 2025-07-16.

Master trust

UHG 401K SAVINGS PLAN MASTER TR (EIN 300993007, PN 001): plan interest $24,665,949,142, 79.6% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20251013125559NAL0002889554001, received 2025-10-13) reports net assets $31,004,944,005, administrative expenses $0, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees not reported and 2 Schedule C providers.

Provider (trust level)Service codesPaid by the trustAllocated to this plan
FIDELITY INVST INSTNL OPRTN CO, INCrecordkeeper37 64 65 71$0$0
GALLIARD CAPITAL MANAGEMENT, INC.10 21 28 67 72 99 13 52$0$0

Schedule D Part I of the plan's filing; the trust's Schedule H and Schedule C. Allocation = the plan's interest divided by the trust's net assets.

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$22,432,100,178$26,618,762,18118.7%
Participants with a balance267,455263,728-1.4%
Administrative expenses$6,935,140$6,033,226-13.0%
Recordkeeping fees per participant$25.93$22.88-11.8%
Employer contributions$628,955,721$665,377,2245.8%

Prior filing 20240621091513NAL0003508144001, received 2024-06-21; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for Unitedhealth Group 401(k) Savings Plan appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.

Sponsor name as filed: UNITEDHEALTH GROUP INCORPORATED; SEC registrant: UNITEDHEALTH GROUP INC (CIK 731766, matched by EIN; display name from the Form 10-K cover).