401k Record

Employers › W.W. Grainger

W.W. Grainger 401(k)

Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant · W. W. Grainger, Inc. 401(k) Plan · plan year 2024

$35.43

Higher than 19% of the 8,758 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $36,532 / 1,031
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26

10th: $16.21median $93.2090th: $246.84

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans $50 to 250M in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-09-26.

Cost and contributions

Recordkeeping fees per participant

not reported

Not reported on this filing.

Administrative expenses per participant

$35.43

10th: $29.39median $132.8490th: $350.58

Higher than 12% of the 9,042 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $36,532 / 1,031
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26

Administrative expenses as a share of assets

0.054%

10th: 0.022%median 0.136%90th: 0.326%

Higher than 21% of the 9,049 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $36,532 / $67,425,152
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26

Employer contributions per participant

$4,558

10th: $965median $2,73890th: $8,164

Higher than 74% of the 9,105 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $4,699,672 / 1,031
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26

Employer share of total contributions

37.7%

10th: 15.6%median 29.5%90th: 50.6%

Higher than 72% of the 9,112 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $4,699,672 / $12,481,326
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26

0.0% of this plan's assets are held in a master trust. Costs reported at the trust level and allocated by the plan's share: administrative expenses $0 ($35.43 per participant including the plan's own Schedule H). Benchmarks and percentiles use the plan's own Schedule H only.

Plan terms, as stated in W.W. Grainger, Inc.'s SEC filings

Plan terms are described in W.W. Grainger, Inc.'s SEC filings: Form 10-K filed 2026-02-19. No term could be quoted from them with the required precision.

Plan features

2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 3D IRS pre-approved plan · 3H controlled-group sponsor · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26

Full record, W. W. Grainger, Inc. 401(k) Plan

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorW. W. GRAINGER, INC.Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Plan nameW. W. GRAINGER, INC. 401K PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Sponsor EIN / plan number36-1150280 / 002Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Sponsor locationLAKE FOREST, ILForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Industry (business code)423800, Wholesale tradeForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Filing received2025-09-26Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Participants, beginning of year992Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Active participants702Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Participants, end of year1,051Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Participants with an account balance1,031Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Total assets, beginning of year$52,110,786Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Total assets, end of year$67,425,152Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Net assets, end of year$67,374,387Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Total income$20,324,710Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Net income$15,266,863Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Employer contributions$4,699,672Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Participant contributions$5,958,892Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$1,822,762Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Total contributions$12,481,326Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Benefit payments$5,021,315Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$5,057,847Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Total administrative expenses$36,532Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$36,532derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Held in master trusts$17,911Schedule H, line 1c(11) col (b); INT_MASTER_TR_EOY_AMT pos 53; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Held in common/collective trusts$60,608,168Schedule H, line 1c(9) col (b); INT_COMMON_TR_EOY_AMT pos 51; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Held in mutual funds$6,039,465Schedule H, line 1c(13) col (b); INT_REG_INVST_CO_EOY_AMT pos 55; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26
Independent auditorERNST & YOUNGSchedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26

Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26.

Service providers paid directly by the plan

ProviderRelationshipService codesDirect compensationIndirect
THE VANGUARD GROUP, INC.recordkeeperNONE 15 Recordkeeping and information management; 16 Consulting (general); 25 Trustee (directed); 37 Participant loan processing; 52 Investment management fees paid indirectly by plan; 99 Other fees $39,859yes

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20250926115124NAL0010098800001, received 2025-09-26.

Master trust

WW GRAINGER INC DEF CONTRIBUTION MT (EIN 866746935, PN 001): plan interest $17,911, 0.0% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20250926095918NAL0009977744001, received 2025-09-26) reports net assets $149,889,145, administrative expenses $0, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees not reported and 0 Schedule C providers.

Schedule D Part I of the plan's filing; the trust's Schedule H and Schedule C. Allocation = the plan's interest divided by the trust's net assets.

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$52,110,786$67,425,15229.4%
Participants with a balance9701,0316.3%
Administrative expenses$39,213$36,532-6.8%
Recordkeeping fees per participantnot reportednot reported
Employer contributions$4,462,316$4,699,6725.3%

Prior filing 20241011061835NAL0042734514001, received 2024-10-11; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for W. W. Grainger, Inc. 401(k) Plan appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.

Sponsor name as filed: W. W. GRAINGER, INC.; SEC registrant: W.W. GRAINGER, INC. (CIK 277135, matched by EIN; display name from the Form 10-K cover).