401k Record

Employers › Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance › plan 004

Massmutual Thrift Plan

Recordkeeping fees per participant · Massmutual Thrift Plan · plan year 2024

$33.63

Higher than 49% of the 790 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $735,108 / 21,856
Schedule H, line 2i(3); OTH_RECORDKEEPING_FEES_AMT pos 160; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19

10th: $6.72median $34.2890th: $56.58

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans over $1B in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-09-19.

Cost and contributions

Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant

$35.97

10th: $9.43median $44.4790th: $97.55

Higher than 33% of the 1,045 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $786,108 / 21,856
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19

Administrative expenses per participant

$35.97

10th: $24.33median $70.0390th: $174.36

Higher than 17% of the 1,076 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $786,108 / 21,856
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19

Administrative expenses as a share of assets

0.018%

10th: 0.013%median 0.046%90th: 0.111%

Higher than 15% of the 1,076 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $786,108 / $4,330,613,063
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19

Employer contributions per participant

$2,918

10th: $1,442median $3,74490th: $8,760

Higher than 37% of the 1,135 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $63,775,163 / 21,856
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19

Employer share of total contributions

26.4%

10th: 19.8%median 33.4%90th: 47.5%

Higher than 27% of the 1,135 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $63,775,163 / $241,346,449
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19

79.2% of this plan's assets are held in a master trust. Costs reported at the trust level and allocated by the plan's share: administrative expenses $0 ($35.97 per participant including the plan's own Schedule H). Benchmarks and percentiles use the plan's own Schedule H only.

Plan features

2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 3H controlled-group sponsor · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2E profit-sharing · 2S pre-approved plan document · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3F · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19

Full record, Massmutual Thrift Plan

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorMASSACHUSETTS MUTUAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANYForm 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Plan nameMASSMUTUAL THRIFT PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Sponsor EIN / plan number04-1590850 / 004Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Sponsor locationSPRINGFIELD, MAForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Industry (business code)524140, Finance and insuranceForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Filing received2025-09-19Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Participants, beginning of year23,180Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Active participants13,678Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Participants, end of year22,609Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Participants with an account balance21,856Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Total assets, beginning of year$3,938,416,393Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Total assets, end of year$4,330,613,063Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Net assets, end of year$4,330,613,063Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Total income$748,522,303Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Net income$315,211,128Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Employer contributions$63,775,163Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Participant contributions$144,064,242Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$33,507,044Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Total contributions$241,346,449Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Benefit payments$432,082,081Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$433,311,175Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Total administrative expenses$786,108Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Contract administrator fees$10,800Schedule H, line 2i(2); CONTRACT_ADMIN_FEES_AMT pos 106; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Recordkeeping fees$735,108Schedule H, line 2i(3); OTH_RECORDKEEPING_FEES_AMT pos 160; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$786,108derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Held in master trusts$3,430,816,030Schedule H, line 1c(11) col (b); INT_MASTER_TR_EOY_AMT pos 53; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19
Independent auditorKPMG LLPSchedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19

Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19.

Service providers paid directly by the plan

ProviderRelationshipService codesDirect compensationIndirect
FID INV INST OPSrecordkeeperRECORDKEEPER 37 Participant loan processing; 64 Recordkeeping fees; 65 Account maintenance fees $745,908no
WILLIS TOWERS WATSON US LLCCONSULTING 16 Consulting (general) $40,200no

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20250919133811NAL0003626418001, received 2025-09-19.

Master trust

MASSMUTUAL DEFINED CONTRIB PLAN MT (EIN 931996039, PN 001): plan interest $3,430,816,030, 97.3% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20250919133721NAL0002366369001, received 2025-09-19) reports net assets $3,527,238,657, administrative expenses $0, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees not reported and 0 Schedule C providers.

Schedule D Part I of the plan's filing; the trust's Schedule H and Schedule C. Allocation = the plan's interest divided by the trust's net assets.

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$3,938,416,393$4,330,613,06310.0%
Participants with a balance22,25521,856-1.8%
Administrative expenses$595,842$786,10831.9%
Recordkeeping fees per participant$26.32$33.6327.8%
Employer contributions$58,218,688$63,775,1639.5%

Prior filing 20240906114913NAL0000660339001, received 2024-09-06; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for Massmutual Thrift Plan appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.