401k Record

Employers › United Airlines › plan 008

United Airlines Flight Attendant 401(k) Plan

Recordkeeping fees per participant · United Airlines Flight Attendant 401(k) Plan · plan year 2024

$22.49

Higher than 28% of the 790 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $718,471 / 31,946
Schedule H, line 2i(3); OTH_RECORDKEEPING_FEES_AMT pos 160; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13

10th: $6.72median $34.2890th: $56.58

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans over $1B in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-10-13.

Cost and contributions

Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant

$28.92

10th: $9.43median $44.4790th: $97.55

Higher than 26% of the 1,045 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $923,857 / 31,946
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13

Administrative expenses per participant

$30.34

10th: $24.33median $70.0390th: $174.36

Higher than 12% of the 1,076 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $969,259 / 31,946
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13

Administrative expenses as a share of assets

0.018%

10th: 0.013%median 0.046%90th: 0.111%

Higher than 15% of the 1,076 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $969,259 / $5,324,955,280
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13

Employer contributions per participant

$2,677

10th: $1,442median $3,74490th: $8,760

Higher than 31% of the 1,135 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $85,529,425 / 31,946
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13

Employer share of total contributions

31.0%

10th: 19.8%median 33.4%90th: 47.5%

Higher than 42% of the 1,135 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $85,529,425 / $275,733,090
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13

96.0% of this plan's assets are held in a master trust. Costs reported at the trust level and allocated by the plan's share: administrative expenses $4,659 ($30.49 per participant including the plan's own Schedule H). Benchmarks and percentiles use the plan's own Schedule H only.

Plan features

2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2R participant brokerage window · 2S pre-approved plan document · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3H controlled-group sponsor · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13

Full record, United Airlines Flight Attendant 401(k) Plan

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorUNITED AIRLINES, INC.Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Plan nameUNITED AIRLINES FLIGHT ATTENDANT 401(K) PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Sponsor EIN / plan number74-2099724 / 008Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Sponsor locationCHICAGO, ILForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Industry (business code)481000, Transportation and warehousingForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Filing received2025-10-13Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Participants, beginning of year32,306Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Active participants27,891Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Participants, end of year32,849Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Participants with an account balance31,946Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Total assets, beginning of year$4,602,250,911Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Total assets, end of year$5,324,955,280Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Net assets, end of year$5,324,933,186Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Total income$1,023,176,922Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Net income$721,804,800Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Employer contributions$85,529,425Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Participant contributions$182,401,324Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$7,802,341Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Total contributions$275,733,090Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Benefit payments$299,629,212Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$301,372,122Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Total administrative expenses$969,259Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Recordkeeping fees$718,471Schedule H, line 2i(3); OTH_RECORDKEEPING_FEES_AMT pos 160; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
IQPA audit fees$22,094Schedule H, line 2i(4); IQPA_AUDIT_FEES_AMT pos 161; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Investment advisory and management fees$45,402Schedule H, line 2i(5); INVST_MGMT_FEES_AMT pos 107; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$923,857derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Held in master trusts$5,114,089,863Schedule H, line 1c(11) col (b); INT_MASTER_TR_EOY_AMT pos 53; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13
Independent auditorMITCHELL & TITUS, LLPSchedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13

Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13.

Service providers paid directly by the plan

ProviderRelationshipService codesDirect compensationIndirect
FID INV INST OPS COrecordkeeperRECORDKEEPER 37 Participant loan processing; 64 Recordkeeping fees; 65 Account maintenance fees; 71 Securities brokerage commissions and fees $718,471yes
LEARNLUX INC.CONSULTANT 16 Consulting (general); 50 Direct payment from the plan $183,292no
MERCERINVESTMENT ADVISOR 16 Consulting (general); 27 Investment advisory (plan); 50 Direct payment from the plan $70,809no
MITCHELL & TITUS, LLPACCOUNTANT/AUDITOR 10 Accounting (including auditing); 50 Direct payment from the plan $22,094no

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20251013141952NAL0000708243001, received 2025-10-13.

Master trust

UNITED AIRLINES 401(K) MASTER TRUST (EIN 611785563, PN 224): plan interest $4,868,662,436, 32.6% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20251013141836NAL0003164194001, received 2025-10-13) reports net assets $14,939,500,406, administrative expenses $0, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees not reported and 0 Schedule C providers.

UAL STABLE VALUE FUND (EIN 611785563, PN 226): plan interest $214,901,514, 28.2% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20251013141704NAL0003160466001, received 2025-10-13) reports net assets $763,346,099, administrative expenses $0, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees not reported and 0 Schedule C providers.

UAL STATED RETURN FUND (EIN 611785563, PN 204): plan interest $30,525,913, 99.6% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20251013141800NAL0001406065001, received 2025-10-13) reports net assets $30,656,738, administrative expenses $4,679, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees $4,679 and 1 Schedule C providers.

Provider (trust level)Service codesPaid by the trustAllocated to this plan
THE PRUDENTIAL INSURANCE COMPANY27 72$4,679$4,659

Schedule D Part I of the plan's filing; the trust's Schedule H and Schedule C. Allocation = the plan's interest divided by the trust's net assets.

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$4,602,250,911$5,324,955,28015.7%
Participants with a balance31,42231,9461.7%
Administrative expenses$988,241$969,259-1.9%
Recordkeeping fees per participant$27.35$22.49-17.8%
Employer contributions$80,492,673$85,529,4256.3%

Prior filing 20241010175443NAL0034933936001, received 2024-10-10; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for United Airlines Flight Attendant 401(k) Plan appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.