401k Record

Employers › CHS/Community Health Systems › plan 006

Chs/community Health Systems, Inc. Standard 401(k) Plan

Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant · Chs/community Health Systems, Inc. Standard 401(k) Plan · plan year 2024

$92.80

Higher than 50% of the 8,758 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $164,903 / 1,777
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26

10th: $16.21median $93.2090th: $246.84

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans $50 to 250M in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-09-26.

Cost and contributions

Recordkeeping fees per participant

not reported

Not reported on this filing.

Administrative expenses per participant

$96.11

10th: $29.39median $132.8490th: $350.58

Higher than 34% of the 9,042 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $170,787 / 1,777
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26

Administrative expenses as a share of assets

0.134%

10th: 0.022%median 0.136%90th: 0.326%

Higher than 49% of the 9,049 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $170,787 / $127,506,856
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26

Employer contributions per participant

$1,645

10th: $965median $2,73890th: $8,164

Higher than 24% of the 9,105 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $2,923,241 / 1,777
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26

Employer share of total contributions

36.4%

10th: 15.6%median 29.5%90th: 50.6%

Higher than 70% of the 9,112 plans $50 to 250M that report it.

Source

= $2,923,241 / $8,035,296
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26

96.8% of this plan's assets are held in a master trust. Costs reported at the trust level and allocated by the plan's share: administrative expenses $29,112 ($112.49 per participant including the plan's own Schedule H). Benchmarks and percentiles use the plan's own Schedule H only.

Plan features

2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3H controlled-group sponsor · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26

Full record, Chs/community Health Systems, Inc. Standard 401(k) Plan

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorCHS/COMMUNITY HEALTH SYSTEMS, INC.Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Plan nameCHS/COMMUNITY HEALTH SYSTEMS, INC. STANDARD 401(K) PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Sponsor EIN / plan number76-0137985 / 006Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Sponsor locationFRANKLIN, TNForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Industry (business code)622000, Health care and social assistanceForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Filing received2025-09-26Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Participants, beginning of year2,454Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Active participants1,393Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Participants, end of year2,191Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Participants with an account balance1,777Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Total assets, beginning of year$123,452,180Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Total assets, end of year$127,506,856Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Net assets, end of year$127,506,856Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Total income$21,399,104Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Net income$4,629,800Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Employer contributions$2,923,241Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Participant contributions$4,926,631Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$185,424Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Total contributions$8,035,296Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Benefit payments$16,598,517Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$16,769,304Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Total administrative expenses$170,787Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Contract administrator fees$164,903Schedule H, line 2i(2); CONTRACT_ADMIN_FEES_AMT pos 106; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Investment advisory and management fees$5,884Schedule H, line 2i(5); INVST_MGMT_FEES_AMT pos 107; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$164,903derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Held in master trusts$123,445,128Schedule H, line 1c(11) col (b); INT_MASTER_TR_EOY_AMT pos 53; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26
Independent auditorLBMC, PCSchedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26

Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26.

Service providers paid directly by the plan

ProviderRelationshipService codesDirect compensationIndirect
PRINCIPAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANYrecordkeeperCONTRACT ADMINISTRATOR 13 Contract administrator; 37 Participant loan processing; 50 Direct payment from the plan; 64 Recordkeeping fees $164,903yes
LPL FINANCIAL LLC - RPCPINVESTMENT ADVISORY 27 Investment advisory (plan); 50 Direct payment from the plan $5,884yes

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20250926144619NAL0004061011001, received 2025-09-26.

Master trust

RET TARGET 2030 SEP ACCT (EIN 420127290, PN 144): plan interest $19,498,216, 3.6% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20250707141509NAL0003872001001, received 2025-07-07) reports net assets $542,948,156, administrative expenses $0, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees not reported and 0 Schedule C providers.

RET TARGET 2025 SEP ACCT (EIN 420127290, PN 143): plan interest $17,850,874, 4.1% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20250707141308NAL0009169586001, received 2025-07-07) reports net assets $431,301,166, administrative expenses $0, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees not reported and 0 Schedule C providers.

RET TARGET 2035 SEP ACCT (EIN 420127290, PN 145): plan interest $14,384,305, 2.6% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20250707141559NAL0003298897001, received 2025-07-07) reports net assets $545,633,343, administrative expenses $0, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees not reported and 0 Schedule C providers.

RET TARGET 2040 SEP ACCT (EIN 420127290, PN 146): plan interest $10,447,631, 2.3% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20250707141651NAL0005448384001, received 2025-07-07) reports net assets $457,603,405, administrative expenses $0, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees not reported and 0 Schedule C providers.

RET TARGET 2045 SEP ACCT (EIN 420127290, PN 147): plan interest $7,523,531, 2.0% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20250707141735NAL0002032691001, received 2025-07-07) reports net assets $375,787,692, administrative expenses $0, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees not reported and 0 Schedule C providers.

RET TARGET 2050 SEP ACCT (EIN 420127290, PN 148): plan interest $7,494,121, 2.4% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20250707141850NAL0001655107001, received 2025-07-07) reports net assets $309,332,846, administrative expenses $107,415, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees $107,415 and 1 Schedule C providers.

RET TARGET 2020 SEP ACCT (EIN 420127290, PN 142): plan interest $7,259,235, 3.2% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20250707141205NAL0002030307001, received 2025-07-07) reports net assets $226,805,630, administrative expenses $0, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees not reported and 0 Schedule C providers.

CHS STABLE VALUE FUND (EIN 760137985, PN 007): plan interest $6,376,206, 2.9% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20250926154121NAL0021947922001, received 2025-09-26) reports net assets $217,017,542, administrative expenses $330,083, recordkeeping fees $25,609, investment management fees $253,256 and 3 Schedule C providers.

CHS MASTER TRUST INVESTMENT ACCOUNT (EIN 760137985, PN 008): plan interest $6,376,206, 0.6% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20250926154135NAL0010291520001, received 2025-09-26) reports net assets $1,157,729,470, administrative expenses $0, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees not reported and 0 Schedule C providers.

RET TARGET 2055 SEP ACCT (EIN 420127290, PN 149): plan interest $4,714,747, 2.3% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20250707141952NAL0009183170001, received 2025-07-07) reports net assets $208,535,846, administrative expenses $225,936, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees $225,936 and 1 Schedule C providers.

RET TARGET 2015 SEP ACCT (EIN 420127290, PN 141): plan interest $3,773,393, 5.1% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20250707141022NAL0001650819001, received 2025-07-07) reports net assets $74,530,363, administrative expenses $0, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees not reported and 0 Schedule C providers.

RET TARGET 2060 SEP ACCT (EIN 420127290, PN 150): plan interest $2,905,600, 2.2% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20250707142040NAL0002034099001, received 2025-07-07) reports net assets $130,343,543, administrative expenses $276,933, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees $276,933 and 1 Schedule C providers.

RET STRATEGIC INC SEP ACCT (EIN 420127290, PN 139): plan interest $1,327,014, 3.4% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20250707140819NAL0002027235001, received 2025-07-07) reports net assets $38,885,430, administrative expenses $0, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees not reported and 0 Schedule C providers.

RET TARGET 2065 SEP ACCT (EIN 420127290, PN 174): plan interest $993,136, 2.0% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20250707142115NAL0001656035001, received 2025-07-07) reports net assets $49,478,170, administrative expenses $262,470, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees $262,470 and 1 Schedule C providers.

RET TARGET 2070 SEP ACCOUNT (EIN 420127290, PN 180): plan interest $14,310, 0.4% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20250707142314NAL0003308977001, received 2025-07-07) reports net assets $3,232,205, administrative expenses $59,207, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees $59,207 and 1 Schedule C providers.

Provider (trust level)Service codesPaid by the trustAllocated to this plan
PRINCIPAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY27 28 52$276,933$6,173
PRINCIPAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY27 28 52$262,470$5,268
PRINCIPAL GLOBAL INVESTORS LLC27 99$253,256$7,441
PRINCIPAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY27 28 52$225,936$5,108
PRINCIPAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY27 28 52$107,415$2,602
PRINCIPAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY27 28 52$59,207$262
PRINCIPAL TRUST COMPANY21 99$51,218$1,505
PRINCIPAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANYrecordkeeper15 64$25,609$752

Schedule D Part I of the plan's filing; the trust's Schedule H and Schedule C. Allocation = the plan's interest divided by the trust's net assets.

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$123,452,180$127,506,8563.3%
Participants with a balance1,8821,777-5.6%
Administrative expenses$199,686$170,787-14.5%
Recordkeeping fees per participantnot reportednot reported
Employer contributions$2,858,083$2,923,2412.3%

Prior filing 20241009155020NAL0019572241001, received 2024-10-09; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for Chs/community Health Systems, Inc. Standard 401(k) Plan appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.