401k Record

Employers › Bank of Hawaii

Bank of Hawaii 401(k)

Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant · Bank of Hawaii Retirement Savings Plan · plan year 2024

$203.20

Higher than 95% of the 2,324 plans $250M to 1B that report it.

Source

= $616,923 / 3,036
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22

10th: $18.52median $67.2190th: $147.71

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans $250M to 1B in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-07-22.

Cost and contributions

Recordkeeping fees per participant

not reported

Not reported on this filing.

Administrative expenses per participant

$203.20

10th: $27.95median $88.2590th: $203.68

Higher than 90% of the 2,405 plans $250M to 1B that report it.

Source

= $616,923 / 3,036
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22

Administrative expenses as a share of assets

0.075%

10th: 0.018%median 0.073%90th: 0.183%

Higher than 51% of the 2,407 plans $250M to 1B that report it.

Source

= $616,923 / $819,916,775
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22

Employer contributions per participant

$2,382

10th: $1,169median $3,07390th: $8,346

Higher than 35% of the 2,457 plans $250M to 1B that report it.

Source

= $7,232,671 / 3,036
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22

Employer share of total contributions

29.2%

10th: 17.5%median 31.1%90th: 48.7%

Higher than 44% of the 2,459 plans $250M to 1B that report it.

Source

= $7,232,671 / $24,779,945
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22

Plan terms, as stated in Bank of Hawaii's SEC filings

Plan terms are not published in public filings.

Plan features

2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2O ESOP-related feature · 2S pre-approved plan document · 2T default investment (QDIA) · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22

Full record, Bank of Hawaii Retirement Savings Plan

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorBANK OF HAWAIIForm 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Plan nameBANK OF HAWAII RETIREMENT SAVINGS PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Sponsor EIN / plan number99-0033900 / 002Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Sponsor locationHONOLULU, HIForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Industry (business code)522110, Finance and insuranceForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Filing received2025-07-22Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Participants, beginning of year3,173Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Active participants1,861Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Participants, end of year3,110Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Participants with an account balance3,036Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Total assets, beginning of year$758,873,710Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Total assets, end of year$819,916,775Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Net assets, end of year$819,916,775Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Total income$122,525,136Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Net income$61,043,065Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Employer contributions$7,232,671Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Participant contributions$16,976,066Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$571,208Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Total contributions$24,779,945Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Benefit payments$60,865,148Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$61,482,071Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Total administrative expenses$616,923Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$616,923derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Held in common/collective trusts$281,921,271Schedule H, line 1c(9) col (b); INT_COMMON_TR_EOY_AMT pos 51; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Held in mutual funds$502,940,908Schedule H, line 1c(13) col (b); INT_REG_INVST_CO_EOY_AMT pos 55; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22
Independent auditorERNST & YOUNG, LLPSchedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22

Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22.

Service providers paid directly by the plan

ProviderRelationshipService codesDirect compensationIndirect
VANGUARD ADVISERS INCNONE 26 Investment advisory (participants) $352,502no
THE VANGUARD GROUP, INC.recordkeeperNONE 15 Recordkeeping and information management; 25 Trustee (directed); 37 Participant loan processing; 52 Investment management fees paid indirectly by plan $167,101yes
MERCER INVESTMENT LLCNONE 27 Investment advisory (plan) $103,955no

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20250722144447NAL0003305264001, received 2025-07-22.

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$758,873,710$819,916,7758.0%
Participants with a balance3,1273,036-2.9%
Administrative expenses$484,822$616,92327.2%
Recordkeeping fees per participantnot reportednot reported
Employer contributions$7,484,768$7,232,671-3.4%

Prior filing 20240708140352NAL0020029744001, received 2024-07-08; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for Bank of Hawaii Retirement Savings Plan appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.

Sponsor name as filed: BANK OF HAWAII; SEC registrant: BANK OF HAWAII (CIK 315080, matched by EIN).