401k Record

Employers › Greif Packaging

Greif Packaging 401(k)

Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant · Greif 401(k) Retirement Plan · plan year 2024

$31.25

Higher than 17% of the 2,324 plans $250M to 1B that report it.

Source

= $284,481 / 9,102
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15

10th: $18.52median $67.2190th: $147.71

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans $250M to 1B in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-07-15.

Cost and contributions

Recordkeeping fees per participant

not reported

Not reported on this filing.

Administrative expenses per participant

$73.43

10th: $27.95median $88.2590th: $203.68

Higher than 39% of the 2,405 plans $250M to 1B that report it.

Source

= $668,365 / 9,102
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15

Administrative expenses as a share of assets

0.077%

10th: 0.018%median 0.073%90th: 0.183%

Higher than 53% of the 2,407 plans $250M to 1B that report it.

Source

= $668,365 / $863,403,788
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15

Employer contributions per participant

$3,345

10th: $1,169median $3,07390th: $8,346

Higher than 54% of the 2,457 plans $250M to 1B that report it.

Source

= $30,444,510 / 9,102
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15

Employer share of total contributions

39.9%

10th: 17.5%median 31.1%90th: 48.7%

Higher than 75% of the 2,459 plans $250M to 1B that report it.

Source

= $30,444,510 / $76,310,142
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15

Plan terms, as stated in Greif Packaging LLC's SEC filings

Plan terms are not published in public filings.

Plan features

2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2S pre-approved plan document · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3H controlled-group sponsor · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15

Full record, Greif 401(k) Retirement Plan

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorGREIF PACKAGING LLCForm 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Plan nameGREIF 401(K) RETIREMENT PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Sponsor EIN / plan number36-3268123 / 001Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Sponsor locationDELAWARE, OHForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Industry (business code)331200, ManufacturingForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Filing received2025-07-15Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Participants, beginning of year9,611Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Active participants6,763Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Participants, end of year9,160Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Participants with an account balance9,102Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Total assets, beginning of year$808,079,999Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Total assets, end of year$863,403,788Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Net assets, end of year$863,403,788Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Total income$179,232,680Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Net income$53,351,849Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Employer contributions$30,444,510Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Participant contributions$40,851,013Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$5,014,619Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Total contributions$76,310,142Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Benefit payments$125,102,442Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$125,880,831Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Total administrative expenses$668,365Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Contract administrator fees$284,481Schedule H, line 2i(2); CONTRACT_ADMIN_FEES_AMT pos 106; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Investment advisory and management fees$383,884Schedule H, line 2i(5); INVST_MGMT_FEES_AMT pos 107; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$284,481derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Held in common/collective trusts$546,855,764Schedule H, line 1c(9) col (b); INT_COMMON_TR_EOY_AMT pos 51; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Held in mutual funds$281,582,064Schedule H, line 1c(13) col (b); INT_REG_INVST_CO_EOY_AMT pos 55; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15
Independent auditorGBQ PARTNERS, LLCSchedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15

Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15.

Service providers paid directly by the plan

ProviderRelationshipService codesDirect compensationIndirect
PRINCIPAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANYrecordkeeperCONTRACT ADMINISTRATOR 13 Contract administrator; 37 Participant loan processing; 50 Direct payment from the plan; 64 Recordkeeping fees $488,634yes
EDELMAN FINANCIAL ENGINES, LLCINV ADV, PARTICIPANTS 26 Investment advisory (participants); 50 Direct payment from the plan $294,783no
HIGHLAND CONSULTING ASSOINVESTMENT ADVISORY 27 Investment advisory (plan); 50 Direct payment from the plan $89,100no

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20250715105448NAL0002780064001, received 2025-07-15.

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$808,079,999$863,403,7886.8%
Participants with a balance8,9929,1021.2%
Administrative expenses$670,115$668,365-0.3%
Recordkeeping fees per participantnot reportednot reported
Employer contributions$25,818,536$30,444,51017.9%

Prior filing 20240822120240NAL0003038403001, received 2024-08-22; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for Greif 401(k) Retirement Plan appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.

Sponsor name as filed: GREIF PACKAGING LLC; SEC registrant: GREIF CONTAINERS INC (CIK 1196344, matched by EIN).