Recordkeeping fees per participant
not reported
Not reported on this filing.
Employers › John Wiley & Sons
Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant · John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Employees' Savings Plan · plan year 2024
$33.01
Higher than 18% of the 2,324 plans $250M to 1B that report it.
= $148,897 / 4,510
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15
Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans $250M to 1B in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-10-15.
Recordkeeping fees per participant
not reported
Not reported on this filing.
Administrative expenses per participant
$33.01
Higher than 12% of the 2,405 plans $250M to 1B that report it.
= $148,897 / 4,510
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15
Administrative expenses as a share of assets
0.022%
Higher than 13% of the 2,407 plans $250M to 1B that report it.
= $148,897 / $670,345,481
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15
Employer contributions per participant
$2,227
Higher than 32% of the 2,457 plans $250M to 1B that report it.
= $10,045,829 / 4,510
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15
Employer share of total contributions
31.3%
Higher than 51% of the 2,459 plans $250M to 1B that report it.
= $10,045,829 / $32,082,884
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15
Plan terms are described in John Wiley & Sons, Inc.'s SEC filings: Form 11-K filed 2020-06-29 and Form 10-K filed 2026-06-24. No term could be quoted from them with the required precision.
2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2S pre-approved plan document · 2T default investment (QDIA) · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15
| Field | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Plan sponsor | JOHN WILEY & SONS, INC. | Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Plan name | JOHN WILEY & SONS, INC. EMPLOYEES' SAVINGS PLAN | Form 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Sponsor EIN / plan number | 13-5593032 / 002 | Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Plan type | single-employer | Form 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Sponsor location | HOBOKEN, NJ | Form 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Industry (business code) | 511130, Information | Form 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Plan year | 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31 | Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Filing received | 2025-10-15 | Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Final filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Amended filing | no | Form 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Participants, beginning of year | 5,659 | Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Active participants | 1,851 | Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Participants, end of year | 4,568 | Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Participants with an account balance | 4,510 | Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Total assets, beginning of year | $651,351,852 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Total assets, end of year | $670,345,481 | Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Net assets, end of year | $670,345,481 | Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Total income | $120,861,952 | Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Net income | $59,438,192 | Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Employer contributions | $10,045,829 | Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Participant contributions | $20,895,147 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Other contributions (incl. rollovers) | $1,141,908 | Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Total contributions | $32,082,884 | Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Benefit payments | $61,274,863 | Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Total expenses (incl. benefit payments) | $61,423,760 | Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Total administrative expenses | $148,897 | Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Administrative expenses excluding investment management | $148,897 | derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Held in common/collective trusts | $268,243,571 | Schedule H, line 1c(9) col (b); INT_COMMON_TR_EOY_AMT pos 51; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Held in mutual funds | $398,661,533 | Schedule H, line 1c(13) col (b); INT_REG_INVST_CO_EOY_AMT pos 55; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
| Independent auditor | WITHUMSMITH+BROWN, PC | Schedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15 |
Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15.
| Provider | Relationship | Service codes | Direct compensation | Indirect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| VANGUARD ADVISERS INC. | NONE | 26 Investment advisory (participants) | $117,522 | no |
| THE VANGUARD GROUP, INC.recordkeeper | NONE | 15 Recordkeeping and information management; 16 Consulting (general); 25 Trustee (directed); 37 Participant loan processing; 52 Investment management fees paid indirectly by plan; 99 Other fees | $35,575 | yes |
Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20251015123820NAL0004556033001, received 2025-10-15.
| Figure | 2023 | 2024 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total assets | $651,351,852 | $670,345,481 | 2.9% |
| Participants with a balance | 5,615 | 4,510 | -19.7% |
| Administrative expenses | $229,227 | $148,897 | -35.0% |
| Recordkeeping fees per participant | not reported | not reported | |
| Employer contributions | $13,434,076 | $10,045,829 | -25.2% |
Prior filing 20241009142215NAL0038126290001, received 2024-10-09; the plan years are contiguous.
Sponsor name as filed: JOHN WILEY & SONS, INC.; SEC registrant: JOHN WILEY & SONS, INC. (CIK 107140, matched by EIN; display name from the Form 10-K cover).