401k Record

Employers › Union Pacific Railroad

Union Pacific Railroad 401(k)

Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant · Union Pacific Agreement Employee 401(k) Retirement Thrift Plan · plan year 2024

$5.34

Higher than 5% of the 1,045 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $105,206 / 19,688
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10

10th: $9.43median $44.4790th: $97.55

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans over $1B in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-10-10.

Cost and contributions

Recordkeeping fees per participant

not reported

Not reported on this filing.

Administrative expenses per participant

$88.24

10th: $24.33median $70.0390th: $174.36

Higher than 63% of the 1,076 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $1,737,199 / 19,688
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10

Administrative expenses as a share of assets

0.073%

10th: 0.013%median 0.046%90th: 0.111%

Higher than 74% of the 1,076 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $1,737,199 / $2,389,799,139
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10

Employer contributions per participant

$73

10th: $1,442median $3,74490th: $8,760

Higher than 0% of the 1,135 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $1,434,885 / 19,688
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10

Employer share of total contributions

1.3%

10th: 19.8%median 33.4%90th: 47.5%

Higher than 0% of the 1,135 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $1,434,885 / $107,120,378
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10

100.0% of this plan's assets are held in a master trust. Costs reported at the trust level and allocated by the plan's share: administrative expenses $0 ($88.24 per participant including the plan's own Schedule H). Benchmarks and percentiles use the plan's own Schedule H only.

Plan terms, as stated in Union Pacific Railroad Company's SEC filings

Plan terms are described in Union Pacific Railroad Company's SEC filings: Form 10-K filed 2007-02-23. No term could be quoted from them with the required precision.

Plan features

2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2O ESOP-related feature · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3H controlled-group sponsor · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10

Full record, Union Pacific Agreement Employee 401(k) Retirement Thrift Plan

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorUNION PACIFIC RAILROAD COMPANYForm 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Plan nameUNION PACIFIC AGREEMENT EMPLOYEE 401K RETIREMENT THRIFT PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Sponsor EIN / plan number94-6001323 / 015Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Sponsor locationOMAHA, NEForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Industry (business code)482110, Transportation and warehousingForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Filing received2025-10-10Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Participants, beginning of year33,283Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Active participants27,598Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Participants, end of year32,031Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Participants with an account balance19,688Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Total assets, beginning of year$2,255,128,453Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Total assets, end of year$2,389,799,139Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Net assets, end of year$2,389,799,139Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Total income$336,387,913Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Net income$134,670,686Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Employer contributions$1,434,885Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Participant contributions$104,770,529Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$914,964Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Total contributions$107,120,378Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Benefit payments$199,962,323Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$201,717,227Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Total administrative expenses$1,737,199Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Investment advisory and management fees$1,631,993Schedule H, line 2i(5); INVST_MGMT_FEES_AMT pos 107; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$105,206derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Held in master trusts$2,389,799,139Schedule H, line 1c(11) col (b); INT_MASTER_TR_EOY_AMT pos 53; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10
Independent auditorDELOITTE & TOUCHE LLPSchedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10

Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10.

Service providers paid directly by the plan

ProviderRelationshipService codesDirect compensationIndirect
VANGUARD ADVISERS INC.ADVISOR 26 Investment advisory (participants); 51 Investment management fees paid directly by plan $1,631,993no
THE VANGUARD GROUP, INCrecordkeeperTRUSTEE 15 Recordkeeping and information management; 25 Trustee (directed); 50 Direct payment from the plan; 52 Investment management fees paid indirectly by plan $105,206yes

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20251010081844NAL0012119760001, received 2025-10-10.

Master trust

UNION PACIFIC CORP MASTER TRUST (EIN 132626465, PN 019): plan interest $2,389,799,139, 50.6% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20251010081920NAL0012635120001, received 2025-10-10) reports net assets $4,724,528,682, administrative expenses $0, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees not reported and 1 Schedule C providers.

Provider (trust level)Service codesPaid by the trustAllocated to this plan
THE VANGUARD GROUP, INC.25 52 99$0$0

Schedule D Part I of the plan's filing; the trust's Schedule H and Schedule C. Allocation = the plan's interest divided by the trust's net assets.

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$2,255,128,453$2,389,799,1396.0%
Participants with a balance20,08219,688-2.0%
Administrative expenses$1,577,100$1,737,19910.2%
Recordkeeping fees per participantnot reportednot reported
Employer contributions$1,616,170$1,434,885-11.2%

Prior filing 20240729083254NAL0010879859001, received 2024-07-29; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for Union Pacific Agreement Employee 401(k) Retirement Thrift Plan appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.

Sponsor name as filed: UNION PACIFIC RAILROAD COMPANY; SEC registrant: UNION PACIFIC RAILROAD CO/DE (CIK 92259, matched by EIN).