401k Record

Employers › Sonic Automotive › plan 001

Sonic Automotive, Inc. 401(k) Plan

Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant · Sonic Automotive, Inc. 401(k) Plan · plan year 2024

$55.16

Higher than 37% of the 2,324 plans $250M to 1B that report it.

Source

= $376,363 / 6,823
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23

10th: $18.52median $67.2190th: $147.71

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans $250M to 1B in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-09-23.

Cost and contributions

Recordkeeping fees per participant

not reported

Not reported on this filing.

Administrative expenses per participant

$62.86

10th: $27.95median $88.2590th: $203.68

Higher than 30% of the 2,405 plans $250M to 1B that report it.

Source

= $428,863 / 6,823
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23

Administrative expenses as a share of assets

0.078%

10th: 0.018%median 0.073%90th: 0.183%

Higher than 54% of the 2,407 plans $250M to 1B that report it.

Source

= $428,863 / $548,319,562
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23

Employer contributions per participant

$1,207

10th: $1,169median $3,07390th: $8,346

Higher than 11% of the 2,457 plans $250M to 1B that report it.

Source

= $8,233,300 / 6,823
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23

Employer share of total contributions

17.3%

10th: 17.5%median 31.1%90th: 48.7%

Higher than 10% of the 2,459 plans $250M to 1B that report it.

Source

= $8,233,300 / $47,566,757
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23

Plan features

2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2K 401(m) arrangement · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 3D IRS pre-approved plan · 3H controlled-group sponsor · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23

Full record, Sonic Automotive, Inc. 401(k) Plan

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorSONIC AUTOMOTIVE, INC.Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Plan nameSONIC AUTOMOTIVE, INC. 401(K) PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Sponsor EIN / plan number56-2010790 / 001Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Sponsor locationCHARLOTTE, NCForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Industry (business code)441110, Retail tradeForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Filing received2025-09-23Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Participants, beginning of year10,147Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Active participants8,427Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Participants, end of year9,986Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Participants with an account balance6,823Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Total assets, beginning of year$490,957,282Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Total assets, end of year$548,319,562Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Net assets, end of year$548,319,562Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Total income$118,679,561Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Net income$57,366,795Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Employer contributions$8,233,300Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Participant contributions$35,202,619Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$4,130,838Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Total contributions$47,566,757Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Benefit payments$60,165,934Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$61,312,766Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Total administrative expenses$428,863Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Contract administrator fees$376,363Schedule H, line 2i(2); CONTRACT_ADMIN_FEES_AMT pos 106; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Investment advisory and management fees$52,500Schedule H, line 2i(5); INVST_MGMT_FEES_AMT pos 107; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$376,363derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Held in common/collective trusts$54,333,997Schedule H, line 1c(9) col (b); INT_COMMON_TR_EOY_AMT pos 51; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Held in mutual funds$480,504,087Schedule H, line 1c(13) col (b); INT_REG_INVST_CO_EOY_AMT pos 55; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23
Independent auditorFORVIS MAZARS, LLPSchedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23

Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23.

Service providers paid directly by the plan

ProviderRelationshipService codesDirect compensationIndirect
PRINCIPAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANYrecordkeeperCONTRACT ADMINISTRATOR 13 Contract administrator; 37 Participant loan processing; 50 Direct payment from the plan; 64 Recordkeeping fees $431,038yes
INVESTMENT RESEARCH & ADINVESTMENT ADVISORY 27 Investment advisory (plan); 50 Direct payment from the plan $52,500no

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20250923141643NAL0002601587001, received 2025-09-23.

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$490,957,282$548,319,56211.7%
Participants with a balance7,0886,823-3.7%
Administrative expenses$322,902$428,86332.8%
Recordkeeping fees per participantnot reportednot reported
Employer contributions$7,819,537$8,233,3005.3%

Prior filing 20240919144052NAL0002414051001, received 2024-09-19; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for Sonic Automotive, Inc. 401(k) Plan appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.