401k Record

Employers › Kroger › plan 010

The Kroger Co. 401(k) Retirement Savings Account Plan

Recordkeeping fees per participant · The Kroger Co. 401(k) Retirement Savings Account Plan · plan year 2024

$18.17

Higher than 22% of the 790 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $2,723,000 / 149,880
Schedule H, line 2i(3); OTH_RECORDKEEPING_FEES_AMT pos 160; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13

10th: $6.72median $34.2890th: $56.58

Percentiles compare this plan with the Schedule H plans over $1B in assets of the same plan year, excluding final filings; shown only where at least 50 comparable plans report the figure. Plan year 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, filing received 2025-10-13.

Cost and contributions

Administrative expenses excluding investment management, per participant

$21.63

10th: $9.43median $44.4790th: $97.55

Higher than 19% of the 1,045 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $3,242,000 / 149,880
derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13

Administrative expenses per participant

$21.63

10th: $24.33median $70.0390th: $174.36

Higher than 9% of the 1,076 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $3,242,000 / 149,880
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13

Administrative expenses as a share of assets

0.027%

10th: 0.013%median 0.046%90th: 0.111%

Higher than 27% of the 1,076 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $3,242,000 / $11,809,161,000
Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
assets_eoy: Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13

Employer contributions per participant

$1,850

10th: $1,442median $3,74490th: $8,760

Higher than 14% of the 1,135 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $277,314,000 / 149,880
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
participants_with_balance: Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13

Employer share of total contributions

39.4%

10th: 19.8%median 33.4%90th: 47.5%

Higher than 73% of the 1,135 plans over $1B that report it.

Source

= $277,314,000 / $704,547,000
Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
total_contrib: Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13

84.3% of this plan's assets are held in a master trust. Costs reported at the trust level and allocated by the plan's share: administrative expenses $0 ($21.63 per participant including the plan's own Schedule H). Benchmarks and percentiles use the plan's own Schedule H only.

Plan features

2E profit-sharing · 2F ERISA 404(c) plan · 2G fully participant-directed · 2J 401(k) feature · 2T default investment (QDIA) · 2O ESOP-related feature · Form 5500, line 8a; TYPE_PENSION_BNFT_CODE pos 81; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13

Full record, The Kroger Co. 401(k) Retirement Savings Account Plan

FieldValueSource
Plan sponsorTHE KROGER CO.Form 5500, Part II line 2a; SPONSOR_DFE_NAME pos 19; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Plan nameTHE KROGER CO. 401(K) RETIREMENT SAVINGS ACCOUNT PLANForm 5500, line 1a; PLAN_NAME pos 16; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Sponsor EIN / plan number31-0345740 / 010Form 5500, line 2b; SPONS_DFE_EIN pos 44; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Plan typesingle-employerForm 5500, Part I line A; TYPE_PLAN_ENTITY_CD pos 4; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Sponsor locationCINCINNATI, OHForm 5500, line 2a; SPONS_DFE_MAIL_US_STATE pos 25; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Industry (business code)445110, Retail tradeForm 5500, line 2d; BUSINESS_CODE pos 46; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Plan year2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31Form 5500, Part I plan year; FORM_PLAN_YEAR_BEGIN_DATE pos 2; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Filing received2025-10-13Form 5500, EFAST2 receipt date; DATE_RECEIVED pos 102; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Final filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; FINAL_FILING_IND pos 8; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Amended filingnoForm 5500, Part I line B; AMENDED_IND pos 7; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Participants, beginning of year160,358Form 5500, line 5; TOT_PARTCP_BOY_CNT pos 71; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Active participants380,891Form 5500, line 6a(2); TOT_ACTIVE_PARTCP_CNT pos 72; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Participants, end of year411,922Form 5500, line 6f; TOT_ACT_RTD_SEP_BENEF_CNT pos 77; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Participants with an account balance149,880Form 5500, line 6g(2); PARTCP_ACCOUNT_BAL_CNT pos 78; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Total assets, beginning of year$8,445,085,000Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (a); TOT_ASSETS_BOY_AMT pos 30; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Total assets, end of year$11,809,161,000Schedule H, Part I line 1f col (b); TOT_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 61; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Net assets, end of year$11,808,757,000Schedule H, line 1l col (b); NET_ASSETS_EOY_AMT pos 67; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Total income$2,093,394,000Schedule H, Part II line 2d; TOT_INCOME_AMT pos 97; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Net income$1,013,339,000Schedule H, line 2k; NET_INCOME_AMT pos 111; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Employer contributions$277,314,000Schedule H, Part II line 2a(1)(A); EMPLR_CONTRIB_INCOME_AMT pos 68; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Participant contributions$392,246,000Schedule H, line 2a(1)(B); PARTICIPANT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 69; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Other contributions (incl. rollovers)$34,987,000Schedule H, line 2a(1)(C); OTH_CONTRIB_RCVD_AMT pos 70; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Total contributions$704,547,000Schedule H, line 2a(3); TOT_CONTRIB_AMT pos 72; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Benefit payments$1,076,813,000Schedule H, line 2e(4); TOT_DISTRIB_BNFT_AMT pos 101; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Total expenses (incl. benefit payments)$1,080,055,000Schedule H, line 2j; TOT_EXPENSES_AMT pos 110; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Total administrative expenses$3,242,000Schedule H, line 2i(12) total administrative expenses; TOT_ADMIN_EXPENSES_AMT pos 109; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Recordkeeping fees$2,723,000Schedule H, line 2i(3); OTH_RECORDKEEPING_FEES_AMT pos 160; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Administrative expenses excluding investment management$3,242,000derived, admin_expenses (2i(12)) minus invst_mgmt_fees (2i(5)), floored at 0; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Held in master trusts$9,953,808,000Schedule H, line 1c(11) col (b); INT_MASTER_TR_EOY_AMT pos 53; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13
Independent auditorCLARK, SCHAEFER, HACKETT & CO.Schedule H, Part III line 3a; ACCOUNTANT_FIRM_NAME pos 116; filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13

Position = column in the DOL layout for form year 2024. Filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13.

Service providers paid directly by the plan

ProviderRelationshipService codesDirect compensationIndirect
MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER AND SrecordkeeperRECORDKEEPER 15 Recordkeeping and information management; 62 Float revenue; 72 Other investment fees and expenses $2,047,540yes
FID INV INST OPS COrecordkeeperRECORDKEEPER 37 Participant loan processing; 64 Recordkeeping fees; 65 Account maintenance fees $675,251no

Schedule C Part I line 2: name (a), service codes (b), relationship (c), direct compensation paid by the plan (d), indirect compensation received (e). Filing 20251013091809NAL0000917441001, received 2025-10-13.

Master trust

KROGER DEFINED CONTR PLAN MASTER TR (EIN 310345740, PN 009): plan interest $9,953,808,000, 98.7% of the trust. The trust's own filing (20251013091841NAL0001583216001, received 2025-10-13) reports net assets $10,088,757,000, administrative expenses $0, recordkeeping fees not reported, investment management fees not reported and 20 Schedule C providers.

Provider (trust level)Service codesPaid by the trustAllocated to this plan
WELLS CAPITAL MANAGEMENT28 51$1,434,953$1,415,759
JP MORGAN INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT INC28 51$1,387,305$1,368,748
LSV ASSET MANAGEMENT28 51$1,191,477$1,175,540
LOOMIS SAYLES28 51$918,398$906,113
AMERICAN CENTURY INVESTMENT MGMT28 51$886,016$874,164
DODGE & COX INC.28 51$682,453$673,324
MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER AND Srecordkeeper15 62 72$643,347$634,741
VOYA INSTITUTIONAL PLAN SERVICES28 51$637,448$628,921
NORTHERN TRUST COMPANY28 51$629,972$621,545
NEPC, LLC70$614,142$605,927
T ROWE PRICE STABLE ASSET MGMT INC.28 51$560,386$552,890
POLEN CAPITAL MANAGEMENT28 51$538,783$531,576
PACIFIC INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT CO.28 51$486,124$479,622
INSIGHT NORTH AMERICA LLC28 51$459,353$453,209
ARISTOTLE CAPITAL MANAGMENT28 51$388,055$382,864

Schedule D Part I of the plan's filing; the trust's Schedule H and Schedule C. Allocation = the plan's interest divided by the trust's net assets.

What changed since the 2023 plan year

Figure20232024Change
Total assets$8,445,085,000$11,809,161,00039.8%
Participants with a balance101,679149,88047.4%
Administrative expenses$1,766,000$3,242,00083.6%
Recordkeeping fees per participant$17.37$18.174.6%
Employer contributions$282,092,000$277,314,000-1.7%

Prior filing 20241004152610NAL0005794819001, received 2024-10-04; the plan years are contiguous.

Alerts, claims and corrections

Alert me when this filing changes

One email when a new Form 5500 for The Kroger Co. 401(k) Retirement Savings Account Plan appears in the Department of Labor data. Confirmation link first; unsubscribe link in every email.

Claim this plan

For the sponsor or its plan administrator: request to verify or annotate this page. A work email address at the sponsor speeds up verification.

Report a correction

Every figure is reproduced from the filing with its source. Tell us which figure and what the filing says instead.